Doonbeg crowned


In a one-sided Clare SF Final replay at Milltown on Saturday Doonbeg easily captured their 15th title when proving too strong for newcomers Lissycasey. The winners were in control from the start and were well on their way to the title by half time, taking a comfortable seven point cushion into the break. In the second half, although only scoring three points, Doonbeg continued to dominate, and managed to hold their lacklustre opponents scoreless.

The game's only goal came from Paul Hehir after 10 minutes and rocked Lissycasey who were always struggling from there on.

With Francis McInerney dominating at midfield, the Doonbeg forwards proved too lively for their opponents with man of the match Padraic Conway putting in a star performance.

Equally impressive were Ciaran O'Mahony, Brendan Lynch, Senan Hehir and team captain Padraig Gallagher.

For a disappointing Lissycasey only Colin Lynch Ciaran Donnelly, Conor Clancy and Micheal Melican can be happy with their display.

Scorers: Doonbeg: P Hehir (1-2), B Lynch, B Shanahan (0-2 each), S Hehir, P Smith, F McInerney, (0-1 each). lissycasey: M Daly (0-2).

Carrickmore won the Tyrone senior hurling league title in bizarre circumstances yesterday when opponents Dungannon decided not to turn up for the final in protest over incidents in recent matches.