Determined Mayo shock Armagh


All-Ireland MFC Quarter-finals/Mayo 0-10 Armagh 1-6: Mayo minors bounced back from their Connacht final defeat to surprise Ulster champions Armagh in a keenly-contested All-Ireland quarter-final at Hyde Park on Saturday.

Mayo won more comprehensively than the final scoreline suggests as Armagh's well-worked goal from centre-forward Colm Watters came in the fourth minute of injury time.

Mayo were the more forceful and determined team from the throw-in and beat Armagh with the type of pressure football that has been the Northern team's hallmark at all levels in recent years.Kevin O'Rourke gave Armagh the lead in the second minute but Mayo swiftly took control.

Points from impressive midfielder Pierce Hanley(twice), Paraic O'Connor and Aidan Campbell (three) extended their lead before Armagh's Steven Forker converted two frees to leave three points between the teams at half-time.

Armagh reduced the lead to two points after 40 minutes but points from Ronan O'Boyle, Hanley and a 40-metre free by O'Connor always kept Mayo comfortably ahead.

MAYO: K Barnicle; P Healy, G Cafferkey, D Conway; C Barrett, T Cunniffe, D Hughes; S O'Shea, P Hanley (0-3); A Campbell (0-4, two frees), D O'Connor, P O'Connor (0-2, one 45, one free); R O'Boyle (0-1), D Kilcullen, G O'Boyle.

ARMAGH: J McKeever; P McCourt, K Toner, P McKeown; M Ferris, T McClelland, P Kernan; K Dyas, D McKenna; K Carragher (0-1), C Watters (1-0), G McGarvey; S Forker (0-3, frees), S Clarke, K O'Rourke (0-2).

Referee: R Hickey (Clare).