Local ElectionsWaterford Results

Waterford City and County Council results: Seven of Sinn Féin’s 18 candidates elected

Fine Gael emerges as largest party on local authority

Sinn Féin gained a seat on Waterford City and County Council after running 18 candidates across the local authority’s six electoral areas.

The party finished with seven councillors in the home county of prominent TD David Cullinane, one fewer than Fine Gael which emerged as the largest party. There were also eight Independent candidates elected.

A total of 32 seats were up for grabs, with Fianna Fáil taking five, Labour winning three and the Social Democrats securing one. The Green Party lost two seats and is no longer represented on the council.

In Portlaw-Kilmacthomas, Fine Gael’s Liam Brazil and Seanie Power were reelected on the first count. Fianna Fáil’s John O’Leary and Independent Declan Clune held their seats and there was a gain for Sinn Féin via Catherine Burke.


Sinn Féin has a councillor in the Lismore three-seater for the first time after Donnchadh Mulcahy overcame Independent candidate Brian Buckley by 39 votes on the sixth count. Fine Gael’s Declan Doocey lost his seat. Labour’s John Pratt and Fine Gael’s Niamh O’Donovan were elected on the fourth count.

Independents had a strong start in Waterford City East with David Daniels returned on the first count. Green Party member Jody Power lost his seat and Social Democrat Mary Roche was reelected as was Jim D’Arcy of Fine Gael, who returns to the council after a decade.

In Waterford City South, Independent Donal Barry retained his seat after surpassing the quota on the first count. John Hearne of Sinn Féin was elected on the second count but it took until the 10th count to fill a third seat, with Fianna Fáil’s Jason Murphy reelected. Seamus Ryan (Labour), Frank Quinlan (Fine Gael) and Joeanne Bailey (Sinn Féin) were all re-elected after the 12th count.

In Dungarvan, Conor McGuinness (Sinn Féin) and Damien Geoghegan (Fine Gael) were reelected on the first count. Tom Cronin (Fianna Fáil), Pat Nugent (Fine Gael) and Thomas Phelan (Labour) held their seats and will be joined by newcomer Joe O’Riordan (Independent) in the chamber.

Fine Gael’s Lola O’Sullivan was the first to be elected in Tramore-Waterford City West, with Independent Joe Kelly also keeping his seat. Independent Joe Conway and Blaise Hannigan were also successful as were Jim Griffin (Sinn Féin) and Eamon Quinlan (Fianna Fáil).

Dungarvan: 6 seats

Lismore: 3 seats

Portlaw – Kilmacthomas: 5 seats

Tramore – Waterford City West: 6 seats

Waterford City East: 6 seats

Waterford City South: 6 seats