University Seanad nominees announced


Consultant oncologist Prof John Crown, Labour’s Ivana Bacik and former Progressive Democrat TD Fiona O’Malley are among the nominees in the university constituency for the upcoming Seanad elections.

Six nominees are elected by the graduates of two universities, three from the National University of Ireland and three from the University of Dublin (Trinity College).

Nominations in the constituency closed at noon today. Ballot papers will be issued and posted to electors registered on the 2010 Electoral Register in the constituency on March 21st. The poll will close at 11am on Wednesday, April 27th, 2011.

Some 43 nominees to the 60-seat Seanad are elected through a number of vocational panels, while the remaining 11 appointed by the Taoiseach.

Nominations for the vocational panels close on March 13th and ballot papers will be issued to the vocational panel electorate – outgoing Senators, incoming TDs, as well as members of city and county councils – on April 7th. The poll closes at 11am on April 26th.

The Trinity College panel has an estimated electorate of 65,000. There is an electorate of about 100,000 for the NUI panel. In 2007, there were 11 candidates for the Dublin University/Trinity College panel and 24 candidates for the NUI panel.

Nominations for the National University of Ireland Seanad elections:

1 Thomas Canning - civil engineer
2 Matthias Cowley - teacher
2 James Coyle - chartered accountant
4 John Crown -consultant doctor
5 James Doorley - director
6 Paddy Healy - tormer president of Teachers Union of Ireland
7  Declan Kelleher - teacher
8 John Kennedy - software engineer
9 Helen Keogh - chief executive of World Vision Ireland, chairperson of Dóchas
10 Mick Langan - tourism promoter
11 Paul Lynam - public representative
12 David McCurtin - teacher
13 Michael Molloy - doctor
14 Peter Mooney - radio producer
15 Rónán Mullen - senator and lecturer
16 Eoin Ó Broin  - policy analyst
17 Niall O Brolcháin -senator
18 Diarmaid Ó Cadhla - fear gnó
19 Donncha O’Connell - lecturer
20 Regina Mary O’Connor - political and legal advisor, European Parliament
21 Francis O’Donnell - retired UN Representative
22 James O’Donoghue - scientist
23 Farren O’Shea - solicitor, disability rights advocate
24 Bernadine O’Sullivan - teacher and pensions campaigner
25 Brendan Price - Irish Seal Sanctuary director
26 Fergal Quinn - senator
27 Daniel Sullivan - software professional

Nominations for the University of Dublin Seanad Elections:

1 Ivana Bacik - senator

2 Sean Barrett -  lecturer, Trinity College Dublin

3 Marc Coleman - broadcaster

4 Bart Connolly - housewife, science writer

5 Maeve Cox - Trinity graduate

6 Francis Vincent Donnolly - company director

7 Karin Dubsky

8 Jeffrey Edward Anthony Dudgeon - author, human rights campaigner

9 Dermot Frost - IT specialist

10 Maurice Guéret - doctor

11 Robin Hanan - social justice advocate

12 Rosaleen McDonagh - Traveller activist and playwright

13 Iggy McGovern - physicist and poet

14 David Martin - teacher

15 David Norris - senator

16 Fiona O'Malley - senator

17 William Priestly - youth work co-ordinator

18 Graham Thomas Quinn - solicitor

19 Dermot Francis Sheehan - barrister

20 Tony Williams - solicitor