Tobin starts in changed attack


Limerick hurling manager Richie Bennis has made one enforced change for the Munster semi-final replay at Semple Stadium this Saturday evening (Live on RTÉ 2 from 7pm). Seán O'Connor is ruled out with a hamstring strain so Pat Tobin comes in at corner forward with Andrew O'Shaughnessy moving to the edge of the square as a direct replacement for O'Connor.

The Tipperary team Michael Babs Keating decides to field will not be revealed until moments before throw-in. Eoin Kelly, James Woodlock (both hand injuries) and Shane McGrath (ribs/shoulder) are the main concerns. Alan Byrne, Conor O'Brien and Danny O'Hanlon have been added to the panel.

Kelly's injury is believed to have been sustained in the incident that led to a second yellow card for Limerick captain Damien Reale 22 minutes into last Sunday's draw at the Gaelic Grounds. The midfield pairing of Woodlock and McGrath are expected to recover.

The additions to the panel are confirmation that Keating is not considering calling up Philip Maher as cover for injured full back Paul Curran (broken toe) despite a shaky display from last week's replacement Declan Fanning. Maher dropped off the panel, citing personal reasons, earlier this year.

Lar Corbett didn't start the last day but is expected to run out this week after scoring two points when coming in at half-time in the drawn game.

Meanwhile, Dublin midfielder Darren Magee has emerged as an injury concern ahead of the Leinster football quarter-final replay against Meath this Sunday at Croke Park after the Kilmacud Crokes man required X-rays on a damaged wrist last Tuesday night. In the event of Magee being ruled out Shane Ryan is expected to move into midfield with Ray Cosgrove coming into a rejigged half-forward line.

Despite manager Paul Caffrey naming an unchanged team from the side that drew 1-11 to 0-14 on June 3rd, speculation remains that another Crokes player Mark Vaughan may start in a changed attack that would see Tomás Quinn switch to centre forward, Ryan to the wing and Vaughan at corner forward.

Meath manager Colm Coyle has delayed naming a team with the main conundrum being the six forwards he will start. Regular free-taker Brian Farrell is back from suspension, dropping Graham Geraghty will prove difficult after he impressed against Dublin while replacement Cian Ward kicked a sideline to secure the draw.

Roscommon football manager John Maughan has named one debutant for the Connacht semi-final against Sligo at Dr Hyde Park this Sunday as Anthony McDermott is selected at full back. Other notable inclusions see Gary Cox at centre forward and Ger Heneghan at corner forward. Both players were absent from last year's panel. Shane O'Neill has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place in midfield.

Sligo midfielder and former All Star Eamonn O'Hara is in a race against time to be fit for Sunday's game. He is having treatment for a hamstring injury but the Eastern Harps clubman is a doubtful starter.

The Ulster Competitions Controls Committee have confirmed the provincial football final will return to St Tiernach's Park, Clones, on July 15th, for the first time in three years. Croke Park has been the venue since 2004. The provincial semi-final between Derry and Monaghan will take place in Casement Park on June 24th

LIMERICK (SH v Tipperary): B Murray; D Reale, S Lucey, S Hickey; M O'Riordan, B Geary, M Foley; D O'Grady, P Lawlor; M O'Brien, O Moran, N Moran; P Tobin, A O'Shaughnessy, B Foley.

ROSCOMMON (SF v Sligo): G Claffey; S McDermott, A McDermott, P O'Connor; S Daly, D Casey, R Dooner; S O'Neill, M Finneran; J Tiernan, G Cox, C Cregg; D Connellan, K Mannion, G Heneghan.