Portlaoise event draws 54 teams


THE Zanussi national bridge championship (Holmes Wilson Trophy), with more than £2,000 in prizes, attracted an entry of 54 teams, and was won by R. O'Keeffe, H. Dowling Long, J. Carroll, and T. Garvey in the Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise.

Runners up were Dr H. McGann, T. Hanlon, R. Timlin, and P.F. Walsh. Third prize went to P. Walshe, G. Barton, A. Dillon, and N. Toibin.

Other prize winners were:

Women: C. Pippet, E. Joyce, H.Lillis, G. Finegan. Men: T. Walsh, D. O'Gorman, D. Bell, M. Moran.

Mixed: M. Trench, M. Hession, A. and S. Glynn. Master: F. Kelly, P. Healy, B. Ryan, D. Doheny. Intermediate: B. Kemple, C. Dowling Long, H. and D. Moran.

Best third session: M. McGloughlin, D. Scannell, A. O'Sullivan, N. Kennedy.

Golfers who play bridge and bridge players who play golf should note that the annual inter golf club bridge tournament for the Mollie Fox Cup will take place at the Elm Park GC, Dublin, on March 7th and 14th. All the members of each team must belong to the same golf, club. On the afternoon of March"

14th there will be a nine hole singles stableford. Further details:

and entries: H. Boland (01 490, 0330).

Dublin North Region - Intermediate A pairs championship (McLoughlin Cup): 1, M. Digan, K. McDonnell; 2, M. Guinan, A. Butler; 3, K. Dockery, N. Madden. Sessional winners: B. Wallace, F. Quaid; A. More O'Farrell, R. Troy.

Dublin South Region's intermediate leagues - A: 1, B. Clear, J. Keane, M. Pierce, P. Tyrrell, M. Tuite, R. Redmond; 2, H. Moran, J. Dolan, M. Keating, L. Maher, J. Kelly; 3, F. Kelly, T. Dowling, M. Farrell, D. Murphy. B: 1, L. Denieffe, T. McGowan, M. Flynn, C. Rochford, S. Gordon, E. Boland; 2, C. O'Connor, R. King, C. O'Driscoll, M. O'Brien, D. Garvey (Junior); 3, M. Waters, K. and M. O'Brien, K. Fitzpatrick, D. Barber, G. Lawlor.

North Eastern Region - Kells Cup: C. Lee, N. Wilson; 2, S. Newcomen, M. Moonan; 3, P. Gibney, F. Sherlock.

South Co Dublin team championship: 1, J. Moran, M. Keane, J. Corcoran, S. Dowling; 2, B. and E. Healy, E. Meghen, A. Reville. Intermediate prizes: 1, D. Lombard, D. Sheehan, V. Burke Moran, K. Hughes; 2, A. and P. Ahearn, D. and E. Sharkey. Local prize: A. and O. Whelan, M. Coen, S. Cooney, J. O'Keeffe. Best second session: B. Walker, M. O'Brennan, B. Kavanagh, A. Murray.

The Bankers' congress will run from March 9th to 17th at 92 St Stephen's Green, Dublin. Brochures: H. Moran (01 4976809).

Mini bridge festival, Cascais, Portugal, May 25th-June 8th. Details: M. Walsh (01-2691463).