Irish Aussie Rules team to compete in London


The Irish National Australian Rules team will compete against the USA, Canada, Great Britain and Denmark in a week-long five nations competition in London next month.

The team has trained together only four times since June but nevertheless depart for London on October 6th to compete in the Atlantic Alliance Cup. Brian McEniff’s International Rules Team departs for Australia on the same day.

Australian Rules football is enjoying its second season in Ireland where five clubs, under the control of the Australian Rules Football League of Ireland (ARFLI), have been established.

The Dublin Demons, Belfast Redbacks, Leeside Lions, Drogheda Dockers and Midland Tigers will be joined next year by five new clubs from Kilkenny, Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Mayo and Clare.

The grand final of ARFLI Premiership will be contested this Saturday, September 22nd at James Park, Kilkenny between last year’s champions, The Dublin Demons and Cork outfit, the Leeside Lions.