Advertising Feature
An advertising feature is created, supplied and paid for by a commercial client and promoted by the Irish Times Content Studio. The Irish Times newsroom or other editorial departments are not involved in the production of advertising features.

The Irish CX Impact Awards return to a live venue after two-year hiatus

Key players from across the customer experience space gathered in person once again to celebrate innovations and achievement at this year’s Irish CX Impact Awards

Now in their fifth year, the Irish CX Impact Awards returned to a live event gathering for CX professionals, teams and suppliers. Fifteen trophies were awarded across all key areas of customer experience excellence, drawn form a shortlist of outstanding practitioners.

Notable winners on the night included Siobhan Hennessy, recipient of the CX Leader 2022 Award who made her way to the stage to a full standing ovation from her peers, and Fenero, who took the Grand Prix, CX Champion 22 Award.

Another of the evening’s winners was ESB Networks whose head of customer experience, Dervla Flaherty said: “ESB Networks is transforming how we serve our 2.4 million customers to deliver an exceptional customer experience. Winning the Customer Impact Award is recognition that our customer transformation programme is on the right track in seeking to place the customer at the heart of everything we do.”

Peter Hendrick, chief executive of National Broadband Ireland, one of the finalists, said: “The importance of broadband as a utility makes CX excellence a cornerstone for the industry. As more and more homes get connected to NBI’s reliable high-speed fibre, ensuring the best outcomes for customers has to be a key objective.”


Joining the winners on stage was Imagine’s head of centralised services, Kate Zanchetta, who said: “Delivering great customer experience goes hand in hand with our goal of connecting rural communities across Ireland, so we’re delighted to be recognised as Customer Experience Team of the Year. Congratulations to all nominees and a massive thank you.”

The NRH was delighted to have been shortlisted in two categories. Olive Keenan, director of human resources said: “It is a wonderful acknowledgement to be a finalist and have recognition for the work of our Positive Environment Working Group in developing the NRH staff wellbeing framework and customer experience.”

Sinead Doherty, founder and chief executive of award-winner Fenero said: “Sustaining success and driving growth means keeping customers and their experience consistently at the heart of all we do. It’s a never-ending evolution for us and always hugely exciting to keep innovating and raising the bar for our customers.”

Another winner was Bank of Ireland Global Markets. Their head of customer group, John Moclair commented: “We believe in building long standing, value add relationships and winning this award reflects our core purpose - to serve our customers brilliantly. While the markets present uncertainties, one thing that remains certain is our commitment to helping our customers manage their financial markets risk.”

They were joined by Rural Wifi whose chief operating officer, Grace Tooher said: “It can be hard competing with the giants this award acknowledges our efforts. We made a massive commitment to ensure the customer is at the forefront of what we do and this award solidifies this commitment. At Rural WiFi the customer is a priority and not a number and that is what sets us apart.” The company’s chief executive Patrick Cotter went on to add: “At Rural WiFi the customer is everything. Evan won the 2022 Rising Star Award for his accelerated commitment to always placing the customer first. He continues to make significant contributions to Customer Success at Rural WiFi and as a small family-run company, and his dad, I couldn’t be prouder!”

McCabes Pharmacy walked away with two trophies. Karen Doherty, their general manager had this to say: “We are delighted to have won the awards for Best Innovation in CX and CX Impact in Retail and would like to extend our congratulations to our fellow nominees in these categories, who have equally worked so diligently to drive CX in their businesses this past year. Our team at McCabes Pharmacy are passionately committed to constantly developing new and innovative ways to deliver the very best customer experience and patient care both in-store and online. The response from our customers to our new vitamin and wellness range and to our online advisor service have been fantastic and we invite you to visit us in store and online to enjoy the experience.”

The awards were judged by a distinguished panel of CX experts and drawn from across the profession.

Judging panel:

1. Agnieszka Anna Jozwiak (judging co-ordinator), customer experience consulting & advisory, CXPA Ireland

2. Paul Allen, head of customer experience, AIB

3. John Carroll, marketing manager, Irish Distillers Brand Homes

4. Ronika Chakrabarti, associate professor in Marketing, Trinity Business School

5. Liam Kenny, chair, CXPA Ireland & manager customer experience transformation, Iarnród Éireann Irish Rail

6. Terri McCarthy, head of customer experience, insights and analytics at Allianz Ireland

7. Jenny McCoy, head of customer experience, Irish Management Institute

8. Ann Marie O’Donnell, global customer strategy director, Actavo

9. Anne-Marie Reen, associate director, European Medical Information, Eli Lilly

10. Jan Richards, head of customer experience, Irish Life

11. Ifah Sivak, head of strategic tooling operations, Meta

12. Maria Svejdar, head of marketing, communications and customer experience (CX), GS1 Ireland

Full list of winners:

Best Innovation in CX

Winner: McCabes Pharmacy

Best Use of Data Analytics in CX

Winner: Smart Energy Insights - Electric Ireland

Digital Impact in CX

Winner: Digital Advice Platform - Bank of Ireland

CX Impact in Technology, Media & Telecoms

Winner: Rural WiFi

CX Impact in Professional Services

Winner: Fenero

CX Impact in Transport

Winner: Iarnród Éireann Irish Rail

CX Impact in Pharmacy/Health

Winner: Theya Healthcare

CX Impact in Utilities & Services

Winner: ESB Networks

CX Impact in Financial Services

Winner: Bank of Ireland Global Markets

CX Impact in Government & Public Sector

Winner: Iarnród Éireann/Irish Rail

CX Impact in Retail

Winner: McCabes Pharmacy

CX Rising Star of the Year

Winner: Evan Cotter - Rural WiFi

CX Team of the Year

Winner: Imagine

CX Leader 2022

Recipient: Siobhán Hennessy

CX Champion 2022

Winner: Fenero