Wexford given a lesson by dominant DIT


Dublin IT 1-15 Wexford 1-11:A 61st-minute Mark Collins goal from a penalty fired Dublin IT to a four-point victory over a battling Wexford outfit in this entertaining O’Byrne Cup senior football opening round game at Kilanerin yesterday afternoon.

There was no doubting the students’ dominance in a second half where their superior fitness and footballing skills eventually won out.

PJ Banville for Wexford and DIT’s Jason Doherty’s points had the sides tied on 0-4 apiece after 20 minutes. And it was an excellent Banville goal one minute before the break that handed Wexford a 1-7 to 0-5 interval lead.

With Mayo star Aidan O’Shea beginning to impact on the midfield exchanges, DIT gradually took control.

Despite Banville increasing his side’s lead through a pointed free within one minute of the restart, seven unanswered points had the visitors out in front 0-12 to 1-8, by the 50th minute.

As Wexford struggled to cope with the more fluent play of their opponents, it was Alan Nestor who extended his sides lead, before a Banville pointed free helped to lift the siege for the homeside.

The visitors had corner back Colin Walsh sent off on 60 minutes but won a penalty a minute later which Mark Collins tucked away.

After Adrian Flynn and Conor Walsh had exchanged points, Wexford finished with a neat point from the excellent Banville but it was too late to affect the result.

WEXFORD: B Redmond; J Wadding, G Molloy, B Mulligan; J Kelly (0-1), A Doyle, B Malone; D Waters, D Murphy; C Carthy, S Roche, A Flynn (0-3, one free); K O’Grady, C Doyle, P J Banville (1-7, 0-5 frees). Subs: R Tierney for Kelly, R Quinlivan for Murphy (both h-t), S Culleton for Carthy (45 mins), K Kehoe for C Doyle (55 mins).

DIT: R Whelan; Colin Walsh, B Menton (0-1), G O’Hara; A Nestor (0-1, 45), N Devereux, R Sheridan; A O’Shea, R Hazley; J McGrath, M Collins (1-3, 1-0 pen, 0-2 frees), C Reddin (0-1); H Dawson, J Doherty (0-7, four frees), P Maguire. Subs: B Allen (0-1) for Dawson (h-t), K O’Brien for McGrath (48 mins), S O’Connor for Maguire (55 mins), Conor Walsh (0-1) for Doherty (62 mins), D Reilly for Reddin (64 mins).

Referee: B Cawley (Kildare).

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.