Leinster and Munster name starting XVs

Munster welcome back O’Connell, Murray and O’Mahony


Munster have made 10 changes from last week to the side that travels to Aviva on Saturday to face Leinster in the Pro12 derby.

Captain Peter O’Mahony joins several other international players making their return, among them Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Murray and Paul O’Connell, whose shoulder niggle has cleared up.

Leinster have also rolled out their strongest team, although injury and caution has shaped coach Matt O’Connor’s selection. The front row is missing loosehead prop Cian Healy as well as Jack McGrath, Marty Moore and Tadgh Furlong.

Michael Bent plays at loosehead prop with Richardt Strauss hooking and Mike Ross at tighthead.

Irish winger Dave Kearney, who took a knock in training, and back row Rhys Ruddock, who is nursing a calf injury, are not being risked with the Heineken Cup quarter-final match next week against Toulon taking priority.

Jamie Heaslip is back captaining the side along with Kevin McLaughlin and Shane Jennings in the back row, Jordi Murphy starting on the bench.

The Leinster backs, however have a familiar look with Luke Fitzgerald and Fergus McFadden on the wings, Gordon D’Arcy and Brian O’Driscoll in the centre and Rob Kearney forcing Springbok Zane Kirchner to the bench.

Ian Madigan is also the preferred starting outhalf to Jimmy Gopperth with Eoin Reddan at scrumhalf.

Munster’s Ian Keatley, who was man of the match when his team beat Leinster 19-15 at Thomond Park in October takes up the outhalf position alongside Conor Murray. With 497 points in 67 appearances, Keatley is hoping to break the 500 point mark.

Casey Laulala and Denis Hurley form the centre partnership with Rob Penney selecting a pacey back three of Keith Earls, who scored a try last week, Zebo and fullback Felix Jones.

Donncha Ryan misses the match and is now wearing a protective boot after a specialist identified a strain under his right foot. An uncommon injury, Ryan will need to be monitored and could miss Munster’s Heineken Cup quarterfinal against Toulouse next week.

Leinster v Munster , Aviva Stadium, Saturday 7pm

Leinster: R Kearney; F McFadden, B O’Driscoll, G D’Arcy, L Fitzgerald; I Madigan, E Reddan; M Bent, R Strauss, M Ross; D Toner, M McCarthy; K McLaughlin, S Jennings, J Heaslip. Replacements: S Cronin, J O’Connell, E Byrne, L Cullen, J Murphy, I Boss, J Gopperth, Z Kirchner

Munster: F Jones; K Earls, C Laulala, D Hurley, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray; D Kilcoyne, D Varley, BJ Botha; D Foley, P O’ Connell; P O’Mahony), T O’Donnell, J Coughlan. Replacements: D Casey, J Cronin, A Cotter, D O’Callaghan, CJ Stander, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, G van den Heever.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.