Irupa honours: Trio of internationals in frame for Hibernia College award

Winner to be announced at annual ceremony on May 7th

Andrew Trimble: in the mix for player of the year.  Photograph: Rob Hardie/Press Eye

Andrew Trimble: in the mix for player of the year. Photograph: Rob Hardie/Press Eye


Having made significant contributions as Ireland captured the Six Nations title, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Trimble and Devin Toner have been nominated by their peers for the Hibernia College Irupa players’ player of the year award.

The winner will be announced at the annual awards ceremony on May 7th.

As will the Nevin Spence young player of the year award, which is between last year’s recipient Robbie Henshaw, Jack McGrath and Jordi Murphy.

Difficult decision
Both McGrath and Murphy featured off the bench for Ireland this year while Henshaw successfully alternated between fullback and centre for Connacht.

The try of the year is a tough call. JJ Hanrahan’s magnificent finish to secure victory for Munster in Perpignan, Rob Kearney’s intercept try against the All Blacks in the autum series and Jonathan Sexton’s second try against France in Par would all be worthy winners.

Supporters can also vote for a separate player of the year and nominate their rugby moment of the season via twitter.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.