St Pat’s retain title for 14th time

Strong start to second half proves difference between sides

St Patrick’s Paul McNeill with Omagh’s Michael Corles. Photograph: Inpho/Presseye/William Cherry

St Patrick’s Paul McNeill with Omagh’s Michael Corles. Photograph: Inpho/Presseye/William Cherry


St Patrick’s Maghera 1-12
Omagh CBS 1-8

St Pat’s Maghera retained the Ulster Colleges SF MacRory Cup with three points to spare over a gallant Omagh CBS at the Athletic Grounds, Armagh yesterday.

A strong start to the second half proved to be the difference between the sides as the Derry school claimed the title for the 14th time.

It was Omagh CBS who led 1-5 to 0-6 at the break after an end-to-end first half. The holders could have had a goal in the first attack of the game but Danny Tallon shot wide. Seán McGale and Jack Doherty then exchanged points.

Conor Cassidy put the Derry lads in front but moments later full forward Conan McElduff levelled. In the 12th minute Omagh CBS led when McGale played in McElduff who finished past keeper Ciarán McCloy.

A Tallon brace helped draw the holders level by the 26th minute. But the Tyrone lads were finishing the half the stronger with Aidan McSorley knocking over a well taken point.

The holders came out for the second half with all guns blazing and five points in a row gave them a lead that they were never to lose, Paul Gunning and Caolan McNeill among the scorers.

James Darcy had an Omagh point but then came the crucial score of the contest when Tallon scored a goal. There was no way back for Omagh.

ST PAT’S MAGHERA : C McCloy; P McNeil, OHegarty, C McNeill (0-1) ; C O’Doherty, P Hagan (0-1) , C Mulholland, C Glass, C Cassidy (0-1) , J Doherty (0-1) , P McAtamney (0-1, free) , M McGrath, P Gunning (0-2) , D Tallon (1-2) , C Convery (0-3, 0-1 free) . Subs: B Cassidy for Gunning, L O’Hara for Hagan.

OMAGH CBS : P O’Neill (0-1, 45) ; C McQuaid, C McCann, D Mullan; R Samir, S McGale (0-1) , E Murray; J Darcy (0-2) , B McDonnell; A McSorley (0-1) , J Colton, R McHugh (0-1) ; M Coreless, C McElduff (1-1) , G Slane (0-1, free) . Subs: O McGinn for McGale, P Teague for McHugh, P McGirr for McSorley, A Fullerton for McGirr.

Referee: C Branagan (Down).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.