Brady's late goal lands Mullahoran's 12th title


CAVAN SFC FINAL (replay): Mullahoran 1-8 Kingscourt Stars 0-7:PHILIP BRADY’S goal three minutes from normal time set the seal on a 12th title success for Mullahoran in front of 6,563 fans at Kingspan/Breffni Park yesterday.

The clinching score came after 2010 champions Kingscourt threatened to level for the sixth time in a match that never ignited until Brady’s belter.

The opening half lacked the intensity of the drawn game but Mullahoran did at least repeat their quick start. The breeze-assisted outsiders raced into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead inside the opening 10 minutes with top scorer Enda O’Reilly twice on target.

In a first half which saw the sides level on three occasions, the perfect conditions contrasted with the imperfect football in which poor kick passing and over-elaboration pock-marked proceedings.

Kingscourt trailed by 0-1 to 0-3 after 12 minutes but went on to enjoy territorial advantage and greater possession in the second quarter to power their way into a 0-4 to 0-3 lead with efforts from Pádraig Faulkner and Barry Reilly.

Mullahoran’s O’Reilly stepped up to the mark in the run-up to the interval and sandwiched a Barry Reilly point (28 minutes) to leave the sides deadlocked at five points apiece at the interval.

The claustrophobic play continued after the break. Kingscourt edged into a 0-7 to 0-5 lead before three Enda O’Reilly frees preceded Brady’s major late on.

MULLAHORAN:E Brady; S Smith, K Brady, J Reilly; D Sheridan, Patrick Brady, M Brady; C Shiels, PP Galligan; R Lynch (0-1), Enda OReilly (0-6, five frees), Paul Brady; Philip Brady (1-0), Eddie OReilly (0-1), F Brady. Subs: C Mc Gee for S Smith (13 mins); T Nannery for J Reilly (46 mins); D Smith for R Lynch (59 mins),

KINGSCOURT STARS:J Farrelly; P Faulkner (0-1), T Wakely, S Grey; B Tully, A Clarke, K McCabe; C Smith (0-1), P Smith (0-1, free); J McMahon, J Dillon, B Reilly (0-3, one free); T Malone, R McCormack, S Óg Gargan (0-1). Subs: P Tinnelly for J Dillon (half-time); D Martin for S Óg Gargan (55 mins); G Sheenan for J McMahon (58 mins); K Smith for T Malone (59 mins).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.