Blackrock power into the last four


Blackrock Coll 32 Gonzaga Coll 10:Hot favourites Blackrock racked up a half-dozen tries in their Powerade Leinster Schools Junior Cup quarter-final win over a durable Gonzaga at Donnybrook yesterday.

The Williamstown school got straight out of the traps through their lively scrum-half James McGowan. He first released fullback Steven Kilgallen with a short ball and then, from the recycle, sent lock Caelan Doris into the right corner in the second minute.

Gonzaga were slowly working they way into it, led by their steely openside Jack McNamara, when the ball went to ground. It was hacked ahead by Rock’s Conor Dean for the concession of a scrum. Number eight Hugo Burke got a solid platform and powered to the line.

Then, fullback Kilgallen countered spectacularly for good position. The ball was shifted quickly to the hands of right wing Matthew O’Callaghan for their third try in the 25th minute.

However, Gonzaga centre Harry Brennan spun out of a tackle to break right into the heart of the Rock defence. A penalty followed and outhalf Oran James posted a penalty right on half-time.

Scrumhalf McGowan sniped around the side of a ruck for Rock’s fifth unconverted try and replacement Ben Layden added the sixth before Peter O’Reilly kicked their first conversion.

BLACKROCK: S Kilgallen; M O’Callaghan, G Mullin, T O’Brien, N Gleeson; C Dean, J McGowan; H Egleston, E Olden, E Burns, N Marshall, C Doris, R Dunne, J Mion (capt), H Burke. Replacements: B Nolke for Doris (20 mins); R Mouatt for Burns (38 mins); P O’Reilly for O’Callaghan (52 mins); L Gaffney for Kilgallen (55 mins); B Layden for Mullin (59 mins); C Connolly for Olden, A Murphy for Burke both (60 mins). GONZAGA: M O’Kennedy; T Costello, B Goulding (capt), H Brennan, A Browne; O James, R Kelly; F Keane, R O’Donnell, E Ryder, M McGrogan, E Coyle, C Farrell, J McNamara, H O’Grady. Replacements: A Caslin for Kelly (51 mins); M Mulreanny for Costello (52 mins); C O’Doherty for Keane (55 mins); A McEvoy for O’Donnell, P McCormick for McGrogan, J Appleby for Brennan, J Mulcahy for O’Kennedy all (57 mins); S Dempsey for Coyle (59 mins). Referee: B McNiece, Leinster Branch.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.