Barnes to referee Ireland games against Scotland and Italy


England’s Wayne Barnes will referee two of Ireland’s matches in the 2013 RBS Six Nations Championship.

Barnes will be in charge when Declan Kidney’s squad take on Scotland in Murrayfield on the third weekend of the tournament and also when Ireland travel to Rome for their final match.

France’s Romain Poite will preside over Ireland’s opening Six Nations game against Wales at the Millennium Stadium, while another Frenchman, Jérome Garces, will officiate when England travel to the Aviva. New Zealand-born Steve Walsh – affiliated to the Australian Rugby Union – will referee Ireland’s other home game against France.

Irish referees will also be in action. George Clancy is to officiate in two matches when France host Wales at the Stade de France and Italy’s visit to Twickenham to take on England. Alain Rolland will referee the Calcutta Cup match between England and Scotland in London.

Rolland, Clancy and John Lacey will fulfil touch judge roles in sundry games while Simon McDowell and Marshall Kilgore will act as television match officials.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.