Song of the Year shortlist is out


The shortlist for the second Meteor Choice Song of the Year award has been announced. Ten Irish songs – encompassing both the judging panel’s top five choices and the Irish airplay charts – will be put to a public vote, and the winner will be announced in Vicar Street on March 7th, the same night as the Album of the Year award. Last year, Royseven won the inaugural title for their song We Should Be Lovers, but 2012’s nominees are Mark My Words by The Coronas, Care For by Delorentos, High Hope by Glen Hansard, Forget Me Knots by Heathers, Say Hello by Gavin James, All I Want by Kodaline, Love System by Le Galaxie featuring Elaine Mai, Hall of Fame by The Script, Sea Creatures by Soak and The Waves by Villagers. Delorentos and Heathers are also nominated for Album of the Year. The winner will receive a trophy and €3,000; voting is open until March 3rd via by texting SONG to 085-7114444

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.