Council Of State

122 results

 President Michael D Higgins:  Central to what he describes as his “presidency of ideas” is a desire to challenge, to provoke, to question assumptions and orthodoxies. Photograph: Frank Miller

The role of president is rich in ambiguity. The Constitution lays down some things the holder of the office must do (appoint the taoiseach and governm(...)

A migrant woman and a toddler wait for a bus at a transit camp in the southern Serbian town of Presevo on January 9th, 2016. Photograph: Armend Nimani/AFP/Getty Images

Refugees entering Ireland are subjected to robust screening, Tánaiste Joan Burton has insisted. The State has committed to accepting 4,000 refugees o(...)

The Rossport five: Michael Ó Seighin, Brendan Philbin, Willie Corduff, Vincent McGrath and Philip McGrath leaving the Four Courts after being released from prison in 2005.

As gas is flared into the skies above north Mayo, it is worth reflecting on a project that has been one of modern Ireland’s greatest scandals, a stunn(...)

 President Michael D Higgins has signed the International Protection Bill 2015 into law. File photograph: Dara Mac Dónaill/The Irish Times

President Michael D Higgins has signed a Bill on the Irish asylum process into law, after he decided against referring it to the Supreme Court. A st(...)

President Michael D Higgins: Convened the  meeting in Áras an Uachtaráin which extended to over three hours. Photograph: PA

The majority of those present at yesterday’s Council of State meeting said President Michael D Higgins should not refer a proposed law governing the (...)

President Michael D Higgins, with members of the Council of State, front from left; Sen Patrick Burke, Ceann Comhairle, Sean Barrett,TD; Tanaiste Joan Burton; Taoiseach Enda Kenny, President Higgins; The Hon Mrs Justice, Susan Denham; The Hon Mr Justice, Peter Kelly; Attorney General Maire Whelan and Prof. McAlleese. (Back row from left) former taoisigh John Bruton, presidential appointees Sally Mulready and Michael Farrell; The Hon Mrs Justice Catherine McGuinness; The Hon Justice Ronan Keane; The Hon Justice John Murray; presidential appointee Prof Deirdre Heenan, former taoisigh Bertie Ahern, presidential appointees Ruairi McKiernan and Prof Gerard Quinn and former taoisigh Brian Cowen, ahead of their meeting to consider legislation reforming the asylum application system, at Aras an Uachtarain. Photograph: Dara Mac Dónaill / The Irish TimesPhotograph: Dara Mac Donaill / The Irish Times

President Michael D Higgins will make a decision on whether to refer proposed law governing the Irish asylum process to the Supreme Court within 24 ho(...)

President Michael D Higgins signed two more pieces of legislation into law on Tuesday. File photograph: Eric Luke/The Irish Times

President Michael D Higgins signed two more pieces of legislation into law on Tuesday. Mr Higgins signed the Electoral (Amendment) Bill and the Plann(...)

Michael McNamara. Photograph: Eric Luke/The Irish Times

Tomorrow the President will convene the Council of State to consider the International Protection Bill. The Dáil considered only 16 of the Bill’s 81 s(...)

“When I chose to disclose classified information, I did so out of a love for my country and a sense of duty to others.” Manning stated during her 2013 trial.

What would you do if you uncovered something you knew to be profoundly wrong, something that the public had a right to know about but you weren’t supp(...)

Outgoing President of the High Court Mr Justice Nicholas Kearns (right): he retires later this month after six years in the post.  Photograph: Cyril Byrne

A former Fine Gael minister of state and a former chairman of the Referendum Commission are believed to be among the main contenders for appointment(...)

  • « First
  • Prev
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • Next
  • Last »