The Seanad is to be relocated temporarily to the nearby National Museum of Irleand - Archaeology  on Kildare Street, Dublin. Photograph: Google Street View

A forum to promote relationships between the Oireachtas and neighbouring national cultural institutions is to be established, Seanad Cathaoirleach De(...)

Fine Gael Senator Paul Coghlan has called for action against seagulls in Dublin city centre. File photograph: Vale Wildlife Hospital/PA Wire

Businesses should use a “repulsive spray” to prevent seagulls tearing apart plastic bags of rubbish left out for collection in Dublin city centre, Fin(...)

Senator Billy Lawless: due back in Chicago this week for a hip operation. Photograph: Brenda Fitzsimons

On Wednesday morning in Washington, DC, Dick Durbin had some interesting information to impart to his fellow senators. “We all know the Senate of the(...)

©INPHO/Donall Farmer

As the Dáil adjusts to the new politics the big imponderable is whether it will prove to be a better way of doing the people’s business or mark a slid(...)

Denis O’Donovan: Fianna Fáil Senator was elected by 44 votes to six in the 60-seat House with the support of Fine Gael, Labour and a number of Independents. Photograph: Aidan Crawley

The new Cathaoirleach of the Seanad has warned that if the Upper House is to make its mark, it must rise above a system of “Government versus the rest(...)

Billy Lawless: Said he had not worked out the logistics of how he would attend sittings, or what the expenses would be. Photograph: The Irish Times

Chicago-based Billy Lawless will be entitled to a total of €29,565 in travel and accommodation expenses under current Oireachtas rules, despite the n(...)

 Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin. File photograph: Gareth Chaney Collins

The selection of three of the Taoiseach’s 11 Seanad nominees by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin came as a major surprise to Fine Gael Ministers and (...)

Fianna Fáil Senator Denis O’Donovan is in the running to be the new Cathaoirleach of the Seanad. Photograph: Aidan Crawley

Fianna Fáil Senator Denis O’Donovan is likely to be the new Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, replacing outgoing Fine Gael Senator Paddy Burke. The Cork S(...)

Former Fine Gael TD Jerry Buttimer has been elected to the Seanad

Former Fine Gael TD Jerry Buttimer has been elected to the Seanad and two other ex-TDs who lost their Dáil seats are also expected to win in the Upper(...)

Green Party candidate and former surfing champion Grace O’Sullivan was elected to the Agricultural panel, overcoming Fianna Fáil’s Michael Smith despite his higher vote. Photograph: Michael Mac Sweeney/Provision

Fianna Fáil’s poor strategy in organising its Seanad campaign has resulted in the loss of one of its four seats on the Agricultural panel. Green Part(...)

  • « First
  • Prev
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Next
  • Last »