Mullinalaghta manager Mickey Graham celebrates at the final whistle of the Leinster club SFC final win over Kilmacud Crokes. Photo: Oisin Keniry/Inpho

Their supporters must have wondered if they’d ever see the day. The players might have had their doubts too. They’d endured much more than their fair (...)

Olympique Lyonnais’ Norwegian forward Ada Hegerberg after receiving the 2018 Women’s Ballon d’Or award. Photograph: Getty Images

Monday night’s Ballon d’Or ceremony should have been a special night for women’s football. However, Ada Hegerberg’s moment - she was announced as the (...)

 Martin Solveig and Olympique Lyonnais’ Ada Hegerberg with the women’s Ballon d’Or award. Photograph: Reuters

Luka Modric ended a decade of dominance by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in the Ballon d’Or but the Croatian’s win was overshadowed when the inau(...)