Irish Times winners at the National Newspapers of Ireland journalism awards: Emma Somers, Eoin Butler, Kitty Holland, Paul Howard, Kate Holmquist and Fintan O’Toole. Photograph: Alan Betson

Irish Times reporter Kitty Holland has been named National Journalist of the Year for her coverage of the Savita Halappanavar story. The judges(...)

There’s one overriding reason copyright is on so many national agendas. Reform is being driven by a fundamental shift between the time when current laws were drafted, and today: the arrival of the internet.  Photograph: Chris Ratcliffe/Bloomberg

It has been a long road, but at last it looks as if we are moving closer to meaningful and, potentially, quite transformative copyright reform in Irel(...)