Man Booker shortlist: David Szalay, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet, Otessa Moshfegh, Paul Beatty, and Madeleine Thien. Photographs: PA

Heralding the customary groans, cheers, sighs and gnashing of teeth the 2016 Man Booker shortlist has been announced and with it the six remaining gla(...)

Mike McCormack’s ‘Solar Bones’ needs to be considered for the Man Booker Prize. But we can’t submit it.

Who cares about the Man Booker Prize? For most people, if the name is recognisable at all, it’s an award for the snooty elite – “posh bingo”, as Julia(...)

The Sellout by Paul Beatty; The Schooldays of Jesus by J.M. Coetzee; Serious Sweet by A.L. Kennedy

Once the initial dust settles, that would be the slight cloud created by feet racing off to the nearest bookstore because this year’s Man Booker priz(...)

Richard Flanagan who won this year’s Man Booker Prize. Photograph: Ulf Andersen/Chatto & Windus/PA Wire

Tasmanian Richard Flanagan has won this year’s Man Booker Prize for his majestic sixth novel, The Narrow Road to the Deep North. It is an inten(...)

Sarah Waters: ‘Sexual desire is a wonderful engine for a plot. My novels all have lesbian relationships and desire, but I’d never written a classic lesbian love story.’ Photograph: Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images

‘I love research,” says Sarah Waters, author of some of the most popular and groundbreaking historical novels of the last 20 years. “Sometimes I th(...)

Co Clare based writer Niall Williams is nominated for his eighth novel ‘History of the Rain’.

Irish authors have taken two of the 13 slots on the Man Booker Prize 2014 longlist announced today. Cork native now living in the US, Joseph O’Neill h(...)