Final judging panel at ‘The Irish Times’ Innovation Awards 2017: Gearoid Mooney, division manager research and innovation, Enterprise Ireland; Wayne Bridges, managing director and co-founder, Oxymem; Kevin Neary, co-founder and former MD of Gamestop Group; Helen Kirkpatrick, non-executive director of UTV Media, Kingspan and United Dairies; Tim Brundle, director of research and innovation, University of Ulster; Anna Scally, tax partner, head of technology and media, fintech leader, KPMG Ireland; Dr Chris Horn; Rober Love, director of communications, Abbvie; and Prof Pat Gibbons, Jefferson Smurfit Professor of strategic management, UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School. Photograph: Conor McCabe

I entered the drive at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham at 8am last week behind a huge articulated lorry. The truck, part of the construction crew for th(...)