Adenopo winner seals Senior Munster Cup success for De La Salle Waterford

Lone goal enough to see off first-time finalists Tralee CBS in FAI Schools decider

De La Salle College Waterford 1 Tralee CBS 0

De La Salle College Waterford landed the FAI Schools Dr Tony O'Neill Senior Munster Cup for the fifth time in their history as they defeated Tralee CBS 1-0 in the final at Ballea Park, Cork on Wednesday.

Due to the outbreak of Covid-19, this was the first final in this competition since 2020 and both sides were eager to make up for lost time.

This showpiece occasion somehow remained locked at 0-0 at half time but it was Tralee, at this stage of the tournament for the first time ever, who came the closest to scoring as Cianan Cooney struck the inside of the far right post before captain Cian Brosnan hit the left upright.

De la Salle grabbed what proved to be the winner just before the hour when Anthony Adenopo coolly tucked the ball into the bottom right corner of the net from just inside the penalty area.

De La Salle College Waterford: Dara Kavanagh, Alex Ridsdale (Matthew Elliott 32), Adam Queally, Matas Grinius, Sean Heanre, Alessandro de Sanctis, Romeo Akachukwu, Jack Twomey, Shane O'Brien (Jake Lacey Keane 87), Anthony Adenopo, Evan Ryan (Conor McCabe 77).

Tralee CBS: Dimitar Dimitrov, Robert Vasiu, Josh Connolly (Venis Jahiri 60), Nathan Rogers, Ryan Guerin, Conor Kerins, Shaun Kedzierski (David Callaghan 78), Adam Sheehy, Cian Brosnan, Togor Silong (Sean McGrath 60), Cianan Cooney.

Referee: Pat Buckley.