France’s Pascal Papé cited for Jamie Heaslip incident

Secondrow was sinbinned for kneeing Ireland number eight in the back during Six Nations tie

Pascal Papé has been cited for his knee to the back of Jamie Heaslip during Ireland’s 18-11 Six Nations win over France at the Aviva. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

Pascal Papé has been cited for his knee to the back of Jamie Heaslip during Ireland’s 18-11 Six Nations win over France at the Aviva. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

 

Pascal Pape has been cited for striking Ireland number eight Jamie Heaslip with his knee during Saturday’s Six Nations Championship match at the Aviva stadium. Heaslip is believed to have suffered broken vertebrae as a result and could be sidelined for a month to six weeks.

The former French captain received a yellow card from referee Wayne Barnes after the official had consulted with the television match official and watched replays of the incident on the big screen. Barnes adjudged Pape’s action to be intentional, using the word ‘deliberate’ when brandishing the card. How it wasn’t a straight red, given the referee’s summation, remains a mystery.

French coach Philippe Saint-Andre claimed that Pape’s act was not intentional but the independent citing commissioner, Italy’s Stefano Marrama did not agree and he will appear before a Six Nations disciplinary committee hearing later this week.

Saint-Andre had claimed: “When you watch the images of the incident I don’t think you can say it was deliberate. However, I said to Pascal you received a yellow card just at the moment we were gaining the upper hand both physically and territorially as we were in their 22.

Second Captains

“Although we didn’t concede many points it was still a pivotal moment. You expect something like that from an inexperienced player, not one with over 50 Tests under his belt. It was the worst possible moment for that to happen.”

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt admitted after Saturday’s match that experienced loose-forward Heaslip was “very uncomfortable.”

The statement read: “Pascal Papé, second row forward for France, has been cited by the independent citing commissioner at the RBS 6 Nations match between Ireland and France in Dublin on Saturday, for the incident in the 52nd minute of the match for which the player received a yellow card.”

Meanwhile Manon André, the France women’s secondrow was also cited following the match against Ireland women in Ashbourne on Friday evening under Law 10.4(m), which states: “A player must not do anything that is against the spirit of good sportsmanship in the playing enclosure. (Alleged contact with Eye(s) or the Eye Area.)

“Both players will appear before independent Six Nations Disciplinary Committees of three later this week.”

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.