Roscommon celebrate


Nicky Rackard Cup/Roscommon 1-12 Armagh 0-13:Substitute Gary Fallon scored the goal which turned this Nicky Rackard Cup final in Roscommon's favour at Croke Park on Saturday.

Fallon pounced to capitalise in the 43rd minute when a John Moran delivery into the square wasn't dealt with sufficiently by Armagh's Joby Burke.

Armagh produced the better hurling in the first half but they failed to convert their dominance to the scoreboard and the teams were level at 0-6 apiece at the interval.

ROSCOMMON: D Connell; N Cunniffe, C Moran, M Keaveney; A Cunniffe, M Kelly, L Murray; M Connaughton (0-1), T Lennon (0-2, one free); J Moran, G Fallon (0-1), T Reddington; C Kelly (0-2), C Kelly (0-1), S Sweeney (0-5, four frees). Subs: Gary Fallon (1-0) for T Reddington (half-time), B Kelly for G Fallon (45 mins), L Casey for C Kelly (59 mins).

ARMAGH: J Burke; T McCann, E McDonnell, P Kirk; P McArdle, P McCormack, B McCormack; B McCann, C Christie; R Gaffney (0-2), C McCann (0-1), G Enright; D Coulter (0-5, two frees), C McAlinden (0-3), F Bradley (0-1). Subs: C Carville (0-1) for C McCann (50 mins), K McGreevey for G Enright (52 mins).

Referee: Joe Kelly (Wexford).