Lanigan levels


A last-minute point by half back P J Lanigan earned Tipperary a draw against 14-man Fermanagh at Ardfinnan yesterday.

The teams were level, 0-5 each, at half-time and with Tipperary's Davey Hogan and Conor O'Shea and Fermanagh's Stephen McGuire and Rory Gallagher swapping scores, it was still tied at 0-7 each after 36 minutes.

Points from Kieran Gallagher and Stephen McGuire edged Fermanagh in front. But they suffered a major blow in the 43rd minute when McGuire was sent off for a second bookable offence.

Tipperary: P Ryan; N Kelly, C O'Dwyer, F Clifford; P J Lanigan (0-1), S Collum, Damien Byrne; M Leonard, J Costello (0-1); G Butler (0-1), D Hogan (0-1), C O'Shea (0-6); D O'Brien, M Spillane (0-1), D Lyons. Subs: E Hanrahan for M Leonard, M Leonard for E Hanrahan, M Cummins for G Butler.

Fermanagh: C McAdam; P Courtney, P McGuinness, M Lilly; J Gilheaney, K Gallagher (0-2), R Johnson (0-1); P Brewster, L McBarron; C Courtney, R Gallagher (0-4), B Jackson (0-2); T Brewster, S McGuire (0-2), S King. Subs: D McGrath for L McBarron, C McManus for S King.

Referee: N Barrett (Cork).

Carlow - 2-13, Longford - 2-8

Carlow: J Clarke; B Farrell, A Corden, S O'Brien; P Doyle (0-1), S Kavanagh (0-1), J Murphy; P Nolan, P O'Dwyer; J Nevin (1-1), P Kingston, M Carpenter; J Reid (0-1), G Ware (1-0), Michael Nolan (0-6, four frees). Subs: J McGrath (0-1) for O'Brien (22 mins), Mick Nolan (0-2) for P Nolan (39 mins), K McGrath for Reid (48 mins).

Longford: G Tonra; G Brady, J Keegan, C Conefrey; T Donohoe, S Carroll, T Smullen; A Keogh, D Hannify; D Blessington, P Lynch, P Barden (1-1); E Barden (1-2, one free), N Sheridan (0-1), P David (0-3). Subs: D Barry (0-1) for Lynch (half-time), T Drake for Donohoe (half-time), C Hannify for Keegan (41 mins).

Referee: G Kineavy (Roscommon).

Wexford - 1-11, Waterford - 0-5

Wexford: A Hore; P Wallace, M Kavanagh, D Redmond; C Sunderland (0-1), L O'Brien (0-2), D Breen (0-1); W Carley, P Tubritt (0-3); E Doyle, P Forde (1-1), J Lawlor; J Hegarty (0-2), P Harrington, D O'Reilly. Sub: J Foley (0-1) for Doyle.

Waterford: T Brennan; A Hubbard, M Fenton, J Crotty; M Kiely, V Murray, J Fitzgerald; R Power, F O'Brien (0-2); C Watt, K Walsh, D Whelan; N O'Connor, B Arrigan, A Fitzgerald (0-3). Subs: V Crotty for J Fitzgerald, W Kavanagh for Watt, C Breathnach for O'Connor.

Referee: P Russell (Tipperary).