Well-drilled Ballinderry march on in the Ulster football championship

Derry champions too clinical in attack for Tyrone kingpins Clonoe


Ballinderry 0-14 Clonoe 0-10

Ballinderry’s economy in front of the posts proved decisive as they emerged deserving four-point winners over a battling but wasteful Clonoe.

With Aaron Devlin and Ryan Bell in superb scoring form, Martin McKinless’s side saw off the challenge of the Tyrone champions who struggled to turn possession into points.

Early scores from Aaron Devlin, Bell and Darren Lawn saw the Shamrocks lead by three. Clonoe got off the mark through scores from Daniel McNulty and Conor McAliskey. But Ballinderry again took control with Colin Devlin, Aaron Devlin and Darren McKinless kicking three super points, all from lightning breaks out of defence, to lead 0-7 to 0-2 after 23 minutes.

Ballinderry took a 0-8 to 0-4 lead into the interval but could have put the game to bed from the first attack of the second half – however Daniel McKinless blazed wide with the goal at his mercy.

Clonoe took advantage and closed the gap to two points by the 37th minute.

However the Tyrone side were missing too many chances while Ballinderry were ruthless as Bell kicked two scores to make it 0-10 to 0-6.

Clonoe did get within touching distance when two frees from McNulty closed the gap to 0-11 to 0-9 but Ballinderry responded in style as man of the match Aaron Devlin pointed on the run, Bell kicked 60-yard free and Colin Devlin added a close range free to see out the game.

McNulty managed one more late free for Clonoe but the Tyrone side never looked like getting the goal they needed to rescue the game.
BALLINDERRY: M Conlan; R Scott, C Nevin (0-1), M McIver; R Wilson, G McKinless, D Lawn (0-1); K McGuckin, J Conway; D McKinless (0-1), A Devlin (0-3), D McGuckin (0-1); C Devlin (0-1), R Bell (0-4, 1 free), C Gilligan (0-2). Subs: E Muldoon for Lawn (42 mins), D Conway for D McKinless (56 mins), M Harney for Wilson (60 mins), Kevin M McGuckin for J Conway (62 mins).
CLONOE: M O’Neill; D Quinn, A Brady, C O’Neill; J MClure, S McCann, PJ Lavery (0-2); S McNulty, S O’Hagan; R T O’Neill (0-1), C Doris, P Doris; P Coney, D McNulty (0-4, 1f), C McAliskey (0-3, frees). Subs: G Coney for S McCann (13 mins), R R O’Neill for P Doris (44 mins), D McClure for C McAliskey (52 mins), S Hughes for J McClure (58 mins).
Referee: M Higgins (Fermanagh).