Coolera's 98-year wait ends


Sligo SFC Final/ Coolera/Strandhill 0-10 Curry 0-9: Coolera/Strandhill are the Sligo senior football champions for the first time since 1907.

The Seasiders bridged a barren 98-year gap with a well-deserved one-point win over the 2003 champions Curry in a pulsating Owen B Hunt Cup final at sunny Markievicz Park yesterday.

Man of the match, John McPartland, was the winners' top scorer with five points, all from frees, but Coolera had stars all over the field especially the towering Kieran Quinn at midfield, Tony Watters in the half back line and Karol O'Neill at left half forward. Coolera/Strandhill led 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time.

SCORERS - Coolera: J McPartland (0-5, all from frees), S Quinn, B Doyle, C Mullen, C Quinn, K Quinn (0-1 each). Curry: D Colleary (0-2, two frees), B McDonough  (0-2) A Marren (0-2), P Henry (0-1), G Maye (0-1, a free), S Davey (0-1, a free).