SF forms Dáil technical group


Sinn Féin and two left wing Independent TDs have joined forces to form a technical group in the Dáil.

The move will enable the five Sinn Féin TDs and the two Independents, Finian McGrath and Maureen O’Sullivan, to obtain more speaking time in debates.

The group will also be able to question the Taoiseach twice a week for the remaining lifetime of the Dáil.

The arrangement has become possible because of the recent election of Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty in the Donegal South West byelection.

In a joint statement, the seven TDs said: “We have held a series of positive and constructive meetings over the past two weeks and have reached agreement on the logistics of the new Technical Group.

“We emphasise that the Sinn Féin party and each of the two non-party Deputies will maintain their respective independence and separate identity in terms of policy and voting in Dáil divisions.”