Referendum Commission established


Minister for the Environment John Gormley has established a Referendum Commission to provide information to the public ahead of the second vote on the Lisbon Treaty in October.

The independent body will be chaired by Mr Justice Frank Clarke, who was nominated by the Chief Justice in accordance with the referendum commission legislation.

The other members of the commission are the Comptroller and Auditor General John Buckley, the Ombudsman Emily O'Reilly, the clerk of the Dáil Kieran Coughlan, and the clerk of the Seanad Deirdre Lane.

The commission is required to prepare a statement containing a general explanation of the subject matter of the referendum on the Lisbon Treaty.

It is also tasked with publishing and distributing this statement to the electorate and promoting awareness of the referendum.

Another function of the commission will be to rule on applications from groups for declaration as approved bodies who may appoint agents at the referendum to be present at polling stations and at the counting of votes.