Prayer matt finish: Photojournalists of Year are named


PHOTOGRAPHER MARK Condren of the Sunday Tribune has been named as Press Photographers Association of Ireland/AIB Photojournalist of the Year 2009. The award was presented in Dublin last night.

The judging panel which included Per Folkver, former photo editor-in-chief of Danish daily Politiken, and multiple World Press Photo Award winner Séamus Murphy, described Mr Condren’s portfolio as containing “everything you would want”.

Brian Gavin of Press 22 won the award for best news photograph for a shot of former bishop of Limerick Dr Donal Murray at a press conference prior to his resignation.

The judges described it as “an eloquent way of shining a light on a hidden past”.

Julian Behal of the Press Association won the award for best individual image for a photograph of bare knuckle boxer James “Indian” McCook (82). Freelance Kenneth O’Halloran won best photograph in the people category for a shot of two sisters at the Muff Fair in Co Cavan, which the judges said showed a desirable ability to listen to his subjects.

Irish Times photographers Frank Miller and Bryan O’Brien won third prize in the people and picture story categories respectively. Miller’s photograph was of Irish rugby player Ronan O’Gara meeting Queen Elizabeth at Hillsborough Castle following the team’s Grand Slam victory.

O’Brien’s photograph was of the Irish Modern Dance Theatre rehearsing for Fall and Recover. The judging panel said the shot made good use of monochrome and space.