FF adds Siobhán Ambrose and Michael Smith jnr to ticket

Successful candidates lost out in earlier selection convention to Cllr Jackie Cahill

Fianna Fáil has added two candidates who lost out in the Tipperary selection convention to its ticket for the general election.

Both Siobhán Ambrose and Michael Smith jnr contested the convention for the new five-seat constituency in May but lost out to Cllr Jackie Cahill.

Mr Cahill, a former president of the Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association, was the surprise winner.

Fianna Fáil target

But given the size of the constituency and the 30 per cent gender quota it was always likely that extra names would be added to the ticket.

Mr Smith comes from the north of the country, and is based in Nenagh, whereas Ms Ambrose, a previous general election candidate, is based in the south.

The new constituency replaces two three-seat constituencies.

At present, Fianna Fáil has no TD in Tipperary even though the Tipperary South Independent Deputy Mattie McGrath is a former member of the party.