Number of state agencies to be reduced by 41


The National Consumer Agency is to be amalgamated with the Competition Authority as part of a rationalisation programme that will reduce the number of state agencies by 41.

A number of army barracks are also to be closed as part of the rationalisation programme announced as part of the Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan’s first budget.

The Equality Authority and the Human Rights Commission are to fully integrate their facilities while the Central and Regional Fisheries Boards will be merged into a single National Fisheries Board.

A Dublin Transport Authority is being established to incorporate the Dublin Transport Office, the Commission for Taxi Regulation and Public Transport Licensing functions of the Department of Transport.

The National Cancer Screening Service, the National Cancer Registry Board, the Crisis Pregnancy Agency and the Drug Treatment Centre will be incorporated into the Health Service Executive.

The Food Safety Association of Ireland, the Office of Tobacco Control and the Irish Medicines Board will be merged into a Public Health and Medicines Safety Authority to be created "in the near future".
The Irish Museum of Modern Art, the Crawford Art Gallery and the National Gallery of Ireland will be merged although the three will retain their separate identities while the National Archives and the Irish Manuscripts Commission will be merged into the National Library.

The Combat Poverty Agency and the Office of Social Inclusion will be incorporated into the Department of Social and Family Affairs and the Money Advice and Budgeting Service (MABS) will become part of the Citizens Information Board (CIB).

The National Crime Council, the Educational Disadvantage Committee and theNational Adult Learning Council are all to be abolished while the Centre for Early Childhood Development & Education is to be closed.

Longford and Monaghan Barracks, Rockhill House in Letterkennyand Lifford Military Post will be closed and consolidated into existing Barracks at Finner, Athlone and Dundalk. St. Bricins Hospital, Dublin will also be closed.