15 attend meeting on Bill


THE Taoiseach was among 15 members of the 22-member Council of State present at yesterday's meeting in Aras an Uachtarain.

The President, Mrs Robinson, called the meeting to discuss the constitutionality of the Employment Equality Bill.

Those present included ex-officio members: the Taoiseach, Mr Bruton; the Chief Justice, Mr Justice Hamilton; the President of the High Court, Mr Justice Costello; the Attorney General, Mr Dermot Gleeson SC; the Seanad Cathaoirleach, Mr Liam Cosgrave; former Taoisigh, Dr Garret FitzGerald, Mr Liam Cosgrave, Mr Charles J. Haughey; and a former chief justice, Mr Thomas Finlay.

Absent ex-officio members were the Tanaiste, Mr Spring; the Dail Cathaoirleach, Mr Sean Treacy; former Taoisigh, Mr Jack Lynch and Mr Albert Reynolds; former president, Dr P.J. Hillery; and former chief justice, Mr Tom O'Higgins.

Six of the President's seven nominees were present: Prof Emer Colleran, Ms Patricia O'Donovan, Ms Mary O'Rourke, Ms Rosemarie Smith, Dr T.K. Whitaker and Mr Sean O'Grady. Mr Quintin Oliver was absent.