Ó Cuív announces details of what may be final Seanad election


SEANAD:ARRANGEMENTS FOR what may be the last elections to Seanad Éireann have been announced by Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government Éamon Ó Cuív.

Under the Constitution, elections to the Seanad must take place not later than 90 days after the dissolution of the Dáil, ie by May 2nd at the latest.

The Seanad is comprised of 60 members, 11 of whom are nominated by the taoiseach. The remaining 49 seats are contested in a general election – 43 seats by way of an election for panel members and six by way of an election for university members.

The period for nominating bodies to put forward their candidates expires at noon on March 11th and nominations by members of the Oireachtas close at noon on March 21st.

Ballot papers will be issued to the electorate on April 7th, for completion by April 26th.

In the university constituencies of Trinity College and the National University of Ireland, nominations close on March 3rd.

Ballot papers are issued on March 21st and polling closes on April 27th.

Full details of how the Seanad is elected are available online at environ.ie, the Department of Environment website.