2015 in books: Children’s and young-adult fiction

Life, loss and a disastrous Irish superhero family

Author of the Artimis Fowl series and Children’s Laureate Eoin Colfer has edited a new anthology titled Once Upon a Place: New Children’s Stories by Irish Writers

Author of the Artimis Fowl series and Children’s Laureate Eoin Colfer has edited a new anthology titled Once Upon a Place: New Children’s Stories by Irish Writers

 
Rebecca Westcott’s Five Things They Never Told Me (Puffin, March) is a moving story about life and loss set in a nursing home. 
 
Poolbeg continues its historical-fiction series, In a Nutshell and Hands on History, with Claire Hennessy’s Seeds of Liberty (April) and Patricia Murphy’s Deadly Shot: Dan’s War of Independence 1920-22 (March). 
 
Cathy Cassidy’s Looking-Glass Girl (Puffin, April) is a modern retelling of Alice in Wonderland to mark the book’s 150th anniversary.
 
In Irish, I Measc Vaimpírí (Cois Life, March) is the third in Orna Ní Choileáin’s popular vampire series set “sa Thrasalváin”, while Éilis Ní Dhuibhne’s Aisling (Cois Life, September) looks at issues of abortion and religion in a right-wing family. Frank Reidy’s Scéalta ón Afraic (Cló Iar-Chonnacht, June) translates African tales of lions, elephants and giraffes into Irish. Aois Fir, by Liam Ó Muirthile (Cois Life, September), is a coming-of-age story about a young boy’s terrifying journey home on a fishing boat.
 
Kevin Stevens’s funny tale about a disastrous Irish superhero family, Pucker Power (Little Island, May), is beautifully illustrated by Sheena Dempsey, as is Eddie Lenihan’s miniature series of legends, The Mystery and Magic Collection (Mercier, March). Vendetta (Chicken House, January) is a gangland retelling of Romeo and Juliet from the debut novelist Catherine Doyle. 
 
The Art of Being Normal (David Fickling, January), by Lisa Williamson, looks at identity and friendship among teenage boys, while Liz Kessler’s Read Me Like a Book (Indigo, May) is a coming-out and coming-of-age tale 15 years in the making. 
 
Fans of Sarah Crossan’s Apple and Rain will look forward to her new book, The Weight of Water (Bloomsbury, August), about the alienation of young immigrants. Two trilogies will also appear in the summer, Kieran Fanning’s Black Lotus (Chicken House, August), set in the near future of a samurai takeover, and Elizabeth Murray’s Nine Lives (Mercier, July). 
 
Lastly, something for all ages to enjoy, an anthology edited by Children’s Laureate Eoin Colfer, Once Upon a Place: New Children’s Stories by Irish Writers (Little Island, October). 
The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.