Donald Clarke

Whingeing about cinema and real life since 2009

Those IFTA awards in full

Can we call this year’s awards the Noble Prizes? It looks as if we already have.

Tue, May 26, 2015, 13:22


As you will be aware, the IFTA Awards took place at the Mansion House on Sunday evening. Alas, we were covering the Cannes Film Festival (it’s a hard life and so on), so we were not here to note the triumphs for deserving talent. It was good to see animation triumph with a best film win for Tomm Moore’s Oscar-nominated Song of the Sea. Jim Sheridan was there to pick up a lifetime achievement award from Sean Bean and Love/Hate ran away with a hatful of gongs. (Rather eccentrically, the current bifurcated awards begin with a session dedicated to TV drama and film.) Terry McMahon’s Patrick’s Day also did well with awards for best actor — to the up-and-coming Moe Dunford — and for best screenplay. Lenny Abrahamson was name best director for the excellent Frank.

But the biggest winner of the evening was surely the indomitable campaigner Christina Noble. Two actresses won awards for portraying Ms Noble in Stephen Bradley’s titular biopic: Deirdre O’Kane and Sarah Kane. The excellent In A House that Ceased to Be, a study of Ms Noble’s life and work, was honoured as best documentary. It’s quite an achievement for the tireless Dubliner.

By all accounts, much fun was had at an event that surged with celebration following the previous day’s victory for the “Yes” campaign Who’d have though the theatrical community would be in favour? I’m joking, of course.


Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Frank

Best Script Film: Terry McMahon for Patrick’s Day

Irish Film Board Rising Star: Sarah Greene

Best Lead Actor Film: Moe Dunford for Patrick’s Day

Best Lead Actress Film: Deirdre O’Kane for Noble

Best Supporting Actor Film: Domhnall Gleeson for Frank

Best Supporting Actress Film: Sarah Greene

George Morrison Feature Documentary: In A House That Ceased To Be

Best Animation Short: Somewhere Down The Line

Best Short Film: Rockmount

Best Drama in association with BAI: Love/Hate 5

Best Director Drama: Ciaran Donnelly for Vikings

Best Script Drama: Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate

Best Lead Actor Drama: Aidan Gillen for Charlie

Best Lead Actress Drama: Charlie Murphy for Love/Hate

Best Supporting Actor Drama: Stephen Rea for The Honourable Woman

Best Supporting Actress Drama: Aisling Franciosi for The Fall

Best Director of Photography: James Mather for Frank

Best Costume Design: Lorna Marie Mugan for Peaky Blinders

Best Editing: Emer Reynolds for One Million Dubliners

Best Make-Up and Hair sponsored by M.A.C.: Vikings

Best Original Score: Stephen McKeon for Queen and Country

Best Production Design: John Paul Kelly for The Theory of Everything

Best Sound: Patrick’s Day

Best International Film: Boyhood

Best International Actor: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Best International Actress: Julianne Moore for Still Alice