Donald Clarke

Whingeing about cinema and real life since 2009

Run & Jump triumphs at the Galway Film Fleadh

Steph Green’s first feature takes the big prize. David Coverdale fans were also rejoicing.

Sun, Jul 14, 2013, 22:31


The awards are in at the 25th Galway Film Fleadh and the main prize — that for Best Irish Feature — went to Steph Green’s Run & Jump. President Michael D Higgins, a longtime supporter of the event, presented a special Galway Hooker award to Miriam Allen, CEO and driving force of the Fleadh. The gong recognises her achievement in helping coax a new festival into one of the essential dates on the cultural calendar. Loud cheers should ring out.

We’ll be offering you a more in-depth examination of the Irish features in Tuesday’s paper. But we will here note that Run & Jump confirms the promise shown in Ms Green’s Oscar-nominated short New Boy. The picture deals with interactions between a long-suffering woman, her husband, who has recently suffered a stroke, and an American neuroscientist. Its blend of drama and humour is well worth savouring.

YouTube Preview Image

Also acknowledged in the feature prizes were Vico Nikci’s Coming Home, which won best Irish documentary, and Ektoras Lygizos’s Boy Eating The Birds Food, which grabbed best international first feature. Our tip from yesterday, Donal Foreman’s remarkable Out of Here, came second to Run & Jump in the competition for best first Irish feature. We hope that Foreman’s film gets some sort of distribution. Nag your local distributor. You know it’s worth it.

Feel free to explore the short film winners on vimeo and YouTube. The joy of these things is that they are often available instantly to the eager viewer.

YouTube Preview Image

We also feel the need to give a shout out to the hugely enjoyable Discoverdale. Starring comedy troupe Dead Cat Bounce, the mock-rock-documentary follows the band about Europe after they discover that the lead singer’s dad may be Mr David Coverdale. (There’s a sort of pun in the title.) I laughed like a person who found something funny. Ha ha ha! And so forth. Obviously, it owes quite a bit to a certain comic rock film that rhymes with “final crap”. Don’t hold that against it. Somehow or other, despite appearing in the New Irish Cinema section, the picture won best international feature here. Good for it. Seek out Discoverdale.

Here is the full list of awards. Excuse the slightly messy formatting, but they have been cut and pasted from a press release.


Saoirse Ronan

Saoirse had captivated an audience earlier in the day with an engaging public interview with Sean Rocks at the Town Hall, and received a rapturous ovation from the crowd.

James Morris

The former Chair of the Irish Film Board was given the award for his inspiring and enduring legacy with the Irish film industry.

Miriam Allan, Managing Director & Co Founder of the Galway Film Fleadh

Miriam received a surprise award from the President of Ireland Michael.D.Higgins for her on-going commitment and dedication to the Irish Film Industry. 


The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film:

Winner: D.O.P. James Mather for The Girl

The James Horgan Award for Best Animation in Association with Telegael

***Winner eligible to enter Short Film competition for Academy Award ****

Special Mention: Coda

Director: Alan Holly

Producer: Ciaran Deeney

Winner:  The Missing Scarf

Director: Eoin Duffy

Producer: Jamie Hogan

Best First Animation Award in Association with Cartoon Saloon

Special Mention: The Ledge End of Phil (from accounting)

Director: Paul O Muiris

Producer: Pearse Cullinane

Winner:  That’s Not Supposed to Happen

Director: Rory Kerr

Producer: IADT


Special Mention: Unfold

Director: Steven Daly

Producer: Oisin O’Driscoll

Winner: Rubai

Director: Louise Ni Fhiannachta

Producer: Gemma O’ Shaughnessy

The Tiernan MacBride Award for Best Short Drama in Association with Network Ireland Television

Special Mention: Rubai

Director: Louise Ni Fhiannachta

Producer: Gemma O’Shaughnessy

Winner: Mechanic

Director: Tom Sullivan and Feidhlim Cannon

Producer: Tom Sullivan, Suin O’Connor and Derek O’Connor

The Best Short Documentary Award in Association with Teach Solas

Special Mention: Town

Director: Orla Murphy

Producer: Orla Murphy, Orla McHardy

Winner: The End of The Counter

Director: Laura McCann

Producer: Aisling Ahmed

The winner of the 30 Minute Film Festival, the minute-long shorts fest within the festival was won by Robert Gaynor for his film, The Canon.

The International Federation of Film Societies presented the Don Quijote Prize in the animation short film category to director Alan Holly and producer Ciaran Deeney for their short animation, Coda. There was a special mention for Two Wheels Good.

Features Audience Awards:

The Best Irish Feature Award

Second place: Life’s A Breeze

Director: Lance Daly

Producer: Macdara Kelleher

Winner: Run & Jump

Director : Steph Green

Producer : Tamara Anghie and Martina Niland

Best International Feature

Second Place: Ernest et Celestine

Director: Benjamin Renner, Stephane Aubier, Vincent Patar

Producer: Didier Brumner and Stephan Roelants

Winner: Discoverdale

Director: George Kane

Producer: James Dean and Chris Carey

The Best First Irish Feature in Association with Crowe Horwath

Second Place: Out of Here

Director: Donal Foreman

Winner: Run & Jump

Director: Steph Green

The Best International First Feature

In Second Place: Closed Season

Director: Franziska Schlotterer

Winner: Boy Eating The Birds Food

Directed: Ektoras Lygizos 

Best Irish Feature Documentary

Second Place: Close To Evil

Director: Gerry Gregg

Producer: Gerry Gregg

Winner: Coming Home

Director: Vico Nikci

Producer: David Collins

Best International Feature Documentary

Second Place: The Search for Emak Bakia

Director: Oskar Alegria

Producer: Oskar Alegria

Winner: Plot for Peace

Director: Carlos Agullo’ and Mandy Jacobson

Producer: Mandy Jacobson

The Best Human Rights Documentary in Association with Amnesty International

Winner: Coming Home

Directed: Vicki Nikci

Producer: Viko Nikci & David Collins

The Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Award

Winner: Jacinta Owens for her project, C-Me 2020.

The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in association with Magnolia Pictures

Winner:  Kelly Thornton for her portrayal of Emma in Life’s a Breeze.