Una Mullally

Society, life and culture on the edge

Villagers – ‘Darling Arithmetic’

A new album is on the way from Conor O’Brien and co.

Mon, Feb 2, 2015, 12:29


Darling Arithmetic is the new album from Villagers, to be released April 10th on Domino.

Stepping into a more intimate zone, Conor O’Brien wrote, recorded, produced and mixed the album at home in Malahide. On this record, it seems as though O’Brien is pulling focus back to himself, playing every instrument on the album, and painting from a personal emotional palette. The press release says, “It encompasses the various shades of feeling – desire, obsession, lust, loneliness and confusion, and deeper into philosophical and existential territory, across a cast of lovers, friends, family and even strangers.”

The opening track and first single from the record echoes this sentiment, with O’Brien becoming immediately personal, singing, ““It took a little time to get where I wanted / It took a little time to get free / It took a little time to be honest / It took a little time to be me.

Here’s the video for ‘Courage’, in which the artist resides apparently at home, playing guitar and singing in solitude, as the viewer is invited into this intimate setting.
YouTube Preview Image

 {Awayland} was typified by scope, with the vastness and fantastical nature of some of the songs soaring into the realm of imagination. But ‘Courage’ feels much closer to an individual’s spirit, not claustrophobic but intimate, pivoting away from a complex narrative to a personal one.

The album artwork is by David Hedderman (whom O’Brien shared a band with in The Immediate), and the tracklisting is:

1.    Courage
2.    Everything I Am Is Yours
3.    Dawning On Me
4.    Hot Scary Summer
5.    The Soul Serene
6.    Darling Arithmetic
7.    Little Bigot
8.    No one To Blame
9.    So Naïve