Waterford IT outclass CIT with powerful display


Waterford IT 3-15 Cork IT 2-8:Eight-time champions Waterford IT secured a home quarter-final in this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup thanks to a powerful display against Cork IT last night.

An excellent performance from the 2008 champions saw them top group B and set up a last-eight meeting with Davy Fitzgerald’s Limerick IT next week.

Cork IT, meanwhile, will regroup for a quarter-final against UCC, in what is a local derby and a repeat of last year’s decider.

Eoin Murphy was star of the show for WIT last night, as the Kilkenny sub-goalkeeper hit 1-8 from wing forward, including 1-1 from play.

Jake Dillon helped himself to a brace of goals, one in each half, and they were almost identical efforts as the Waterford hitman lobbed CIT goalkeeper Stephen Nyhan with cheeky finishes from close range.

At half-time, WIT led by 2-10 to 0-4 and were 14 points clear midway through the second half.

CIT scored two late consolation goals through Michael O’Sullivan, who never stopped trying from start to finish, and centre forward David Drake but they were outclassed by a Waterford IT side that showed the promise of potential champions.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.