Scotland and South Africa make two changes each for Test


Tighthead prop Euan Murray returns as one of two changes for Scotland in the Test with South Africa at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Murray, who missed Sunday’s 51-22 loss to New Zealand for religious reasons, replaces Geoff Cross in the starting XV.

The second change is enforced, with Ross Rennie (dislocated shoulder) replaced by David Denton. Denton’s inclusion at number eight means captain Kelly Brown will switch to openside flanker.

South Africa have recalled prop Gurthro Steenkamp and centre Juan de Jongh in making two changes.

Steenkamp replaces CJ van der Linde at loosehead after the latter took over as a late replacement from Tendai Mtawarira in the 16-12 win over Ireland.

De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre. Both Van der Linde and Taute have been included on the bench.

Steenkamp has not played for South Africa for more than a year.

“It’s great to have Gurthro back – we wanted to select him last week but unfortunately he was not 100 per cent fit,” said coach Heyneke Meyer.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.