Warriors to push Munster hard

CJ Stander (centre) starts at blindside in a strong Munster side to face Glasgow Warriors in the Rabo Direct Pro12 at Thomond Park tonight. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho

CJ Stander (centre) starts at blindside in a strong Munster side to face Glasgow Warriors in the Rabo Direct Pro12 at Thomond Park tonight. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho


This is another meaty game, so to speak, for Munster and indeed for Glasgow. Munster are in second place, seven points ahead of the Scottish side in the fourth play-off place, making this the pick of the weekend’s games.

Were Glasgow to win it would take them to within three or four points of Munster with a game in hand and a potentially more productive run-in of Ulster (home), Edinburgh (away), Treviso (a) and Zebre (home).

After tonight, Munster face Connacht (away), Edinburgh (away) and Ulster (home).

Up front, loosehead John Ryan and hooker Duncan Casey are called in; Donncha O’Callaghan is restored for the rested Paul O’Connel; CJ Stander starts at blindside, with Sean Dougall recalled at openside.

Starts at outhalf
JJ Hanrahan starts at outhalf, while Keith Earls moves to outside centre in place of Casey Laulala, with Gerhard van den Heever starting at right wing.

As a further indication of this fixture’s importance, Munster’s strong bench includes four of last week’s starting line-up.

As a demonstration of their squad strength after three successive wins (all at Scotstoun), Gregor Townsend makes nine changes, recalling Tommy Seymour in place of leading try-scorer Niko Matawalu in an all-Scottish back three, with Alex Dunbar at outside centre, while Duncan Weir and Chris Cusiter come in at half-back.

Dougie Hall and Jon Welsh are recalled to the frontrow, Tim Swinson to the secondrow, and Josh Strauss and Chris Fusaro to the backrow.

Munster have won seven of their last eight meetings with Glasgow but the Warriors are a tricky, obdurate and difficult side to break down.
Forecast : Munster to win.

MUNSTER : F Jones, G van den Heever, K Earls, J Downey, S Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, C Murray: J Ryan, D Casey, BJ Botha, D O’Callaghan, D Foley, CJ Stander, S Dougall, J Coughlan (Capt). Replacements : Q MacDonald, D Kilcoyne, A Cotter, B Holland, P Butler, D Williams, I Keatley, J Murphy
GLASGOW : P Murchie; S Maitland, A Dunbar, F Russell, T Seymour; D Weir, C Cusiter (Capt): G Reid, D Hall, J Welsh; T Swinson, J Gray; J Strauss. C Fusaro. R Wilson. Replacements : P MacArthur, J Yanuyanutawa, G Cross, L Nakarawa, R Harley, H Pyrgos, P Horne, R Vernon
Referee : Nigel Owens (Wales)

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.