Leinster eventually wrest bonus off Zebre

Last minute Jordi Murphy try secures additional points for Matt O’Connor’s side

Leinster’s Martin Moore and Michael Bent get go-forward ball at the RDS. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho

Leinster’s Martin Moore and Michael Bent get go-forward ball at the RDS. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho


Leinster 27 Zebre 0

Jordi Murphy scored the bonus point try in injury-time as Leinster saw off a stubborn Zebre side 27-0 to move six points clear at the top of the RaboDirect Pro 12. There were five players included from the Ireland squad that claimed the Six Nations title in Paris, with Fergus McFadden, Ian Madigan and Murphy all starting with Martin Moore and Eoin Reddan used off the bench.

In a penalty-strewn first half at the RDS, place-kickers Madigan and Tommaso Iannone missed two shots apiece in a difficult swirling wind. Centre Noel Reid’s fifth try of the league campaign — while Iannone was in the sin-bin — gave Leinster an 8-0 interval lead.

Matt O’Connor’s men gradually lifted the intensity and Luke Fitzgerald’s brace of tries, scored after 59 and 66 minutes, confirmed Leinster’s ninth straight win in all competitions.

The defending champions pushed for a late bonus point and the tiring Italians conceded a fourth try right at the death, Leinster building from a close-in lineout and flanker Murphy was mauled over.

Leinster were back in action after a three-week break and as Zebre leaked four penalties in the opening seven minutes, only desperate defence kept the hosts scoreless. They settled for a three-pointer from Madigan with bulldozing runs from Murphy and man-of-the-match Richardt Strauss driving Leinster forward from the restart.

The scrum offered Zebre some reward but Iannone knocked a long range penalty wide. He had another unconvincing strike in the 22nd minute, after a good kick chase from Giulio Toniolatti and a subsequent collapsed maul.

The Italians managed to disrupt the breakdown as Leinster’s wait for a first try continued, with Darragh Fanning missing an opportunity to release Reid from a Madigan cross-field kick — it was one of a number of breaks that the province failed to finish off. The same attack ended with Zebre outhalf Iannone being penalised for hands in the ruck and referee Marius Mitrea reached for his yellow card.

After Madigan missed the resulting penalty from the right, the Leinster pack built through the phases and had Zebre under intense pressure in their 22 before Reid stepped inside two defenders to touch down to the left of the posts.

The sloppiness continued from both sides early in the second period, with successive attacks spoiled by loose kicking, dropped passes and a general anxiousness. Fitzgerald, the game’s most dangerous runner, had precious few chances to threaten but he was fed by replacement Reddan to dive over in the left corner following a powerful lineout maul.

Madigan, celebrating his 25th birthday and his 100th Leinster cap, nailed a terrific conversion from the touchline and the home side quickly added their third try. Reddan supplied quick ruck ball and after a wraparound move between Madigan and Shane Jennings, Reid passed for Fitzgerald to go over again in the left corner.

This time Madigan’s conversion went narrowly wide and after Zebre failed to capitalise on some pressure, Leinster ended the game in the ascendancy with recent Ireland debutant Murphy grounding a final converted score.

Leinster : Z Kirchner; D Fanning, F McFadden, N Reid, L Fitzgerald; I Madigan, I Boss; M Bent, R Strauss, T Furlong; L Cullen (capt.), M McCarthy; K McLaughlin, D Ryan, J Murphy. Reps: A Dundon, J O’Connell, M Moore, T Denton, S Jennings, E Reddan, J Gopperth, B Macken.

Replacements : M Moore for Furlong 30 mins; E Reddan for Boss, S Jennings for McLaughlin 57 mins. T Denton for McCarthy 61 mins; A Dundon for Strauss, B Macken for Fitzgerald 66 mins; J Gopperth for Reid 72 mins; J O’Connell for Moore 76 mins.

Zebre : D Odiete; G Toniolatti, G Venditti, K Ratuvou, D Berryman; T Iannone, B Leonard; S Perugini, T D’Apice, D Ryan; G Biagi, M Bortolami (capt); F Ferrarini, A Van Schalkwyk, S Vunisa. Reps: D Giazzon, A De Marchi, D Chistolini, M Van Vuren, G Palazzani, A Chillon, E Caffini, F Cristiano.

Replacements : M van Vuren for Biagi 40, F Cristiano for S Perugini both 40 mins; E Caffini for Bortolami 50 mins; A Chilllon for Van Schalkwyk; A De Marchi for Toniolatti 76 mins

Yellow: Tommaso Iannone

Referee : M Mitrea (FIR)

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.