Mike Ruddock named 28-man squad for under-20 Six Nations

Leinster’s Dan Leavy to captain side that sees just two returning players from last year

UCD and Leinster flanker Dan Leavy will captain the Ireland under-20 side in the Six Nations. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho

UCD and Leinster flanker Dan Leavy will captain the Ireland under-20 side in the Six Nations. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho


Ireland under-20 coach Mike Ruddock has named a 28-man squad for the upcoming Six Nations that includes just two players who took part in last year’s competition.

Lansdowne prop Peter Dooley and UCD flanker Peadar Timmins took part in last year’s competition, with Ruddock overseeing a transitional squad this season.

UCD flanker Dan Leavy has been named as captain of a squad that includes six players that took part in the IRB Under-20 World Cup last summer.

Leavy, Dooley and Timmons all played during that tournament in France, as did UL Bohemians backrow Jack O’Donoghue, Garryowen back Alex Wooten and UCD back Adam Byrne.

Terenure College centre Harrison Brewer, a son of former All Blacks backrow Mike Brewer, is also included in the squad.

Commentating on the selection, Ruddock said: “We have a very competitive group this year with a number of players gathering invaluable experience with provincial A sides and in the Ulster Bank League. We have a good record at Dubarry Park and we will be looking to build on strong home form ahead of two difficult away fixtures.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 SIX NATIONS SQUAD: Max Abbott (Munster/Cork Constitution), Harrison Brewer (Leinster/Terenure College), Rory Burke (Munster/Cork Constitution), David Busby (Ulster/Queen’s University), Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD), Adam Byrne (Leinster/UCD ), Jack Cullen (Munster/Bruff), William Dardis (Leinster/UCD), Shane Delahunt (Leinster/Lansdowne), Peter Dooley (Leinster/Lansdowne), Ian Fitzpatrick (Leinster/Lansdowne), Stephen Gardiner (Leinster/Lansdowne), Dan Goggin (Munster/Young Munster), Oisin Heffernan (Leinster/Lansdowne), Cian Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne), Dan Leavy (Leinster/UCD, capt), Nick McCarthy (Leinster/UCD), Conor McKeon (Leinster/Lansdowne), Rory Moloney (Connacht/Buccaneers), Ross Molony (Leinster/UCD), Seán O’Brien (Connacht/Galwegians), Jack O’Donoghue (Munster/UL Bohemian), Gary Ringrose (Leinster/UCD), Peter Robb (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Frankie Taggart (Ulster/Belfast Harlequins), Peadar Timmins (Leinster/UCD), Jacob Walshe (Connacht/Buccaneers), Alex Wootton (Munster/Garryowen).

Schedule – Friday January 31st: Ireland v Scotland, Dubarry Park, 7.05pm; Friday February 7th: Ireland v Wales, Dubarry Park; 7.35pm; Saturday February 22nd:England v Ireland, Franklin’s Gardens, 6.15pm; Friday March 7th: Ireland v Italy, Dubarry Park, 7.05pm; Friday March 14th: France v Ireland, Maurice Trelut, 8.55pm.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.