Ireland Schools take on France in Poland

Noel McNamara’s side hoping to make in through to final of FIRA Under-18 European Championships

Rockwell College’s Sean O’Connor comes in to the secondrow for Ireland. Photograph: Inpho

Rockwell College’s Sean O’Connor comes in to the secondrow for Ireland. Photograph: Inpho


Ireland U-18 Schools v France U-18, Plewiska (3.0, Irish time)

Ireland Schools’ coach Noel McNamara has made five changes to the side that beat Georgia 20-10 in their opening fixture for this afternoon’s FIRA U18 European Championships elite section semi-final against France in Poland.

Rockwell’s Sean O’Connor comes in for Peter Claffey in the secondrow while Jonathan Guy (St Andrew’s) replaces the injured Charlie Cregan at openside flanker. Behind the scrum Newbridge’s Jimmy O’Brien is introduced at outhalf with St Michael’s pivot Matthew Gilsenan, sliding out one place to inside centre.

Colm Mulcahy (Clongowes) takes the number 13 jersey with Paul Kiernan (PBC Cork) dropping to the replacements. St Andrew’s Jordan Larmour replaces Calvin Nash on the right wing. The three try-scorers from the win over Georgia, Jacob Stockdale, who managed a brace, Jack Power and Will Connors have all been retained.

France beat Italy 29-7 in their opening fixture. The other semi-final will see England and Wales square off. The two winners from today’s matches will face each other in the final while the two beaten sides will compete in a third and fourth place playoff in the eight nation elite division. Those matches take place on Saturday.

IRELAND: J Power (Blackrock/Leinster); J Larmour (St Andrews/Leinster),C Mulcahy (Clongowes/Leinster), M Gilsenan (St Michaels/Leinster), J Stockdale (Wallace/Ulster); J O’Brien (Newbrodge/Leinster), R Osborne (Clongowes/Leinster); A Porter (St Andrews/Leinster), J Molony (Clongowes/Leinster), C O’Donnell (Summerhill/Connacht); J Ryan (St Michael’s/Leinster), S O’Connor (Rockwell/Munster); W Connors (Clongowes/Leinster), J Guy (St Andrews/Leinster), M Deegan (St Michael’s/Leinster). Replacements: C McIlmurray (Campbell/Ulster), H Kean (Blackrock/Leinster), C Kenny (Garbally/Connacht), P Claffey (Garbally/Connacht), G Jones (St Andrews/Leinster), D Duggan (St Michael’s/Leinster), P Kiernan (PBC Cork/Munster), O O’Meara (St Michael’s/Leinster), A McMahon (Rockwell/Munster), C Nash (Crescent/Munster).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.