Hanrahan kicks Ireland to record finish

Fri, Jun 22, 2012, 01:00

Ireland Under-20 18 France Under-20 7:Ireland were deserving winners at Newlands stadium in Cape Town, their victory cementing a best ever finish of fifth in the Under 20 World Junior Championship.

It’s been a wonderful effort throughout and while the players and management might reflect on how close they came to contesting a semi-final, they can take immense satisfaction from what they have achieved.

Irish outhalf JJ Hanrahan kicked six penalties from nine attempts as his forwards dominated the majority of the collision points, including the scrum and breakdown: the one exception was the lineout where Ireland were guilty of a handful of turnovers.

They also benefitted from French indiscipline as illustrated by a 16-4 penalty count in Ireland’s favour. Once again Mike Ruddock’s charges brought tremendous intensity to the ruck area, forcing countless turnovers there and in the tackle.

Number eight Jack Conan had a superb match, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson and Jordan Coghlan no less conspicuous in a brilliant collective effort from the Irish eight.

Kieran Marmion was lively at scrumhalf, the midfield combination of Chris Farrell and Stuart Olding offered a contrasting mix of power and subtlety while right wing Barry Daly was responsible for two crucial turnovers that led to Irish points.

Hanrahan kicked two first half penalties and had tagged on another three after the re-start before France gave themselves an outside chance with a try from Gael Fickou, converted by Enzio Selponi. The Kerryman though wrapped up an Irish victory three minutes from time.

Scoring sequence - 27 mins:Hanrahan penalty, 3-0; 32:Hanrahan penalty, 6-0. Half-time:6-0. 42:Hanrahan penalty, 9-0; 48:Hanrahan penalty, 12-0; 59:Hanrahan penalty, 15-0; 66:Fickou try, Selponi conversion, 15-7; 77:Hanrahan penalty, 18-7.

Ireland:P Nelson (Dungannon/Ulster); B Daly (UCD/Leinster), S Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), C Farrell (Dungannon/Ulster), F Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster); JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster), K Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht); D Merrey (Clontarf/Leinster), N Scannell (Dolphin/Munster, capt), T Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), A O’Connor (UCD/Leinster), T Beirne (Lansdowne/Leinster), I Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster), J Coghlan (UCD/Leinster), J Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

Replacements:L McGrath (UCD/Leinster) for Marmion 55 mins; A Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht) for Coghlan 70 mins; C Finn (Buccaneers/Connacht) for Daly 73 mins; J Rael (Garryowen/Munster) for Scannell, J Cawley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) for Merrey 78 mins; S Buckley (Garryowen/Munster) for Henderson 78 mins; J Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) for Olding 78 mins.

France:Platon; Martin, Danty, Fickou, Fuster; Laranjeira, Escande; Jedrasiak, Gayraud, Cotet, Fidinde, Kazubek, Poirot, Galletier, Château (capt).

Replacements:Yobo for Danty 21 mins; Derrien for Galletier 24 mins; Aliouat for Fidinde 31 mins; Carbou for Jedrasiak 50 mins; Selponi for Laranjeira 51 mins; Custoja for Cotet 61 mins; Vartanov for Poirot 70 mins. Yellow card: Poirot 48 mins.

Referee: Francisco Pastrana(Argentina).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.