Bowe ready for second coming


Rugby - Pro12 team news:Tommy Bowe’s second coming for Ulster will officially start tomorrow night when the Ireland winger lines out for the province against Cardiff at the Arms Park. Bowe, who re-joined Ulster from the Ospreys during the summer, has been named on the right wing by coach Mark Anscombe.

Bowe, who spent three years with the Ospreys, missed the start of the season through injury but comes straight into the side with Andrew Trimble shifting to the left flank. In all, Anscombe has made five changes from the side that defeated Munster a fortnight ago – Ulster did not play last weekend due to the tragic death of Nevin Spence – but match winner Jared Payne is retained at fullback.

Ulster captain Johann Muller misses out through injury with Ireland’s Dan Tuohy making his first start of the campaign in a new-look secondrow partnership alongside Neil McComb. Fellow international Chris Henry will also play for the first time this season and will captain the side from openside flanker in the absence of Muller.

Iain Henderson, who took part in Ireland’s training camp in Co Kildare earlier this week, comes into the back row in place of Stephen Ferris.

In Leinster, Rob Kearney has now completed his pre-season training programme and will be pressed straight into action against Connacht tomorrow night. Kearney, who skipped the Ireland get together at Carton House, is named a fullback for the trip west.

Gordon D’Arcy has overcome the injury that forced him off against Edinburgh last Saturday and will join Brendan Macken in the centre while Ian Madigan comes into the side in place at outhalf with Jonathan Sexton making way.

Ulster(v Cardiff, 7.05pm): J Payne; T Bowe, M Allen, D Cave, A Trimble; P Jackson, P Marshall; T Court, N Brady, J Afoa; N McComb, D Tuohy; I Henderson, C Henry (c), N Williams. Replacements:R Herring, C Black, A Macklin, L Stevenson , M McComish, M Heaney, P Wallace, C Gilroy.

Leinster(v Connacht, 8pm): R Kearney; F McFadden, B Macken, G D’Arcy, I Nacewa; I Madigan, J Cooney; H van der Merwe, T Sexton, J Hagan; Q Roux, T Denton; B Marshall, S Jennings (c), L Auva’a. Replacements:S Cronin, C Healy, M Ross, D Toner, J Murphy, L McGrath, N Reid, F Carr

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.