Jonathan Skerritt’s Quest new Class 3 natinal champion

Three race wins and two secon places does it for Royal Irish YC boat


After a dead calm halted almost the entire race programme for the Teng Tools ICRA championships on Saturday, enough breeze returned to Dublin Bay yesterday to allow a four-race programme.

The lowest score of the 115-boat fleet saw Jonathan Skerritt’s Quest of the hosts Royal Irish Yacht Club emerge as the new Class 3 national champion with a tight result of three race wins and two second places.

With a 20-boat field to contend with, best of the runner-ups was former champions George and Neil Kenefick racing Nathan Kirwan Trust from the Royal Cork YC.

Crosshaven was celebrating on several fronts however. Conor Phelan on Jump Juice won the Class Zero title while Ian Nagle’s Jelly Baby took class one after a close-fought content in this, the largest class.

There was also good news from Cowes where Anthony O’Leary on Antix emerged winner of the British IRC National Championships . Teammate Catapult from the US placed third, while the Irish team’s third boat has been delayed in transit from the Caribbean.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.