Andre Ward stops Sergey Kovalev in Las Vegas rematch

Controversy as Ward retains belts with Russian claiming he was hurt by low-blows

Andre Ward (R) stopped Sergey Kovalev in the eighth round of their Las Vegas rematch. Photograph: Ethan Miller/Getty

Andre Ward (R) stopped Sergey Kovalev in the eighth round of their Las Vegas rematch. Photograph: Ethan Miller/Getty

 

Andre Ward proclaimed himself the pound-for-pound world number one after stopping Sergey Kovalev in their rematch to retain his unified light-heavyweight world championship.

An eighth-round win via a controversial technical knockout took Ward to 32 wins from 32 in his career and the 33-year-old then set his sights on climbing the weight classes.

Speaking to HBO after the fight, he said: “Let me ask you the question: Can I get on the pound-for-pound list now? At the top?

“Hopefully, against a great fighter like Sergey Kovalev, we’ll get our credit tonight and get atop that pound-for-pound list.”

He said of his future plans: “Maybe cruiserweight, I don’t know. Cruiserweight, heavyweight, that’s always been a dream of mine. I dream big and anything is possible.”

An impressive performance from Ward was marred by the ending to the fight, with a succession of borderline low blows securing the stoppage after he had initially rocked the Russian with a powerful straight right to the head.

Kovalev was aggrieved at losing the pair’s first meeting last November having knocked Ward down in round two, and again he was frustrated at the stoppage.

“I couldn’t believe it, I could win,” he said.

“Only a low blow (hurt me),” he added, before watching video of the end of the fight and observing: “Low blow — and I felt this. Again, another one. The first one was on the border, and the second one a low blow.”

Ward was unrepentant when watching the same footage.

“When I saw him react to the body shots that were borderline, I knew I had him,” he said. “Go back down there. Why get away from it?

“Then I hurt him with a head shot and I just had to get the right shots in there to get it over with. That one’s probably borderline — he was hurt, I went right back there again, he wasn’t reacting, right back there again and the referee stopped it.”

There had already been controversy on the undercard as Guillermo Rigondeaux knocked out Moises Flores right at the end of the first round to retain his WBA world super bantamweight title.

The verdict was only confirmed after a long review during which referee Vic Drakulich initially suggested he would rule the fight a no-contest, due to Rigondeaux holding Flores behind the head and possibly landing the knockout punch after the bell, while Flores was criticised by some observers who suggested he had exaggerated the effect of the knockout punch.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.