O'Mahony and Nelson to start for Dublin

Tyrone forward Mattie Donnelly, who comes in for Plunkett Kane, as Mickey Harte makes three changes in the Tyrone team to face Donegal in Sunday's dress rehearsal for next May's Ulster championship meeting.

Tyrone forward Mattie Donnelly, who comes in for Plunkett Kane, as Mickey Harte makes three changes in the Tyrone team to face Donegal in Sunday's dress rehearsal for next May's Ulster championship meeting.


Dublin have announced two changes from the team that decisively beat Kerry two weeks ago for tomorrow evening’s Division One encounter with Mayo at Croke Park.

Declan O’Mahony, a replacement against Kerry, comes into the team at centrefield in place of his club-mate Michael Darragh Macauley, who is suspended having received a red card in Killarney. In defence, Rory O’Carroll, who is in hurling action this afternoon with UCD in the Fitzgibbon Cup, is left out with Darragh Nelson taking his place in the 15 with Kevin O’Brien switching to full back.

Mickey Harte makes three changes in the Tyrone team to face Donegal in Sunday’s dress rehearsal for next May’s Ulster championship meeting. Michael Murphy, who has been abroad, comes in at centrefield. Conor Clarke, who partnered Seán Cavanagh there in the win over Mayo, reverts to full back with Justin McMahon moving over to the corner to replace the injured Conor Gormley.

In the forwards Matthew Donnelly comes in for Plunkett Kane and on the bench Kyle Coney is included for the first time this year after recovering from a cruciate injury.

Cork selection

Holders Cork have had to select without under-21 players Tom Clancy, John O’Rourke and the suspended Damien Cahalane, who are all due to face Kerry in the championship in less than two weeks.

Patrick Kelly and Daniel Goulding are still recovering from injuries.

Meanwhile, speculation is mounting that Cork’s senior football and hurling teams will unveil insurance company Chill as their new sponsors in time for tomorrow fortnight’s double bill of National League fixtures at Páirc Uí Rinn, which sees the footballers take on All-Ireland champions Donegal at 5pm with the hurlers facing Clare afterwards at 7pm.

Cork have been without sponsors wince the withdrawal of O2 late last year. The county committee will meet in the coming fortnight and is expected to agree the new deal.

Fitzgibbon Cup

Finally today sees the Fitzgibbon Cup tournament take place under the auspices of GMIT. The semi-finals will take place in the Carnmore club grounds with the final tomorrow in Pearse Stadium.

First up today at 12.45pm is the meeting of Waterford IT and outsiders Mary Immaculate from Limerick, who under the guidance of recent GAA Hall of Fame inductee Eamonn Cregan have surprised everyone by reaching this stage in their first year.

Unfortunately for them Galway’s Conor Cooney will be unavailable, as he is preparing for the All-Ireland club final with St Thomas’s and WIT are likely to prove too strong.

Later at 2.30pm holders UCC play favourites UCD, a fixture that brings together Nicky English, a former UCC hurler himself but now in charge of UCD, and one of his former protégés Eddie Enright, who played centrefield on English’s 2001 All-Ireland winning Tipperary team, and is now managing the Cork college.

DUBLIN (SF v Mayo): S Cluxton; D Daly, K O’Brien, J Cooper; D Nelson, G Brennan, J McCaffrey; D O’Mahony, C O’Sullivan; P Flynn, T Brady, C Reddin; P Andrews, D Connolly, B Brogan.

TYRONE (SF v Donegal): N Morgan, A McCrory, C Clarke, Justin McMahon, R McKenna, Joe McMahon, R McNamee, M Murphy, C Cavanagh, P McNeice, P Harte, Mattie Donnelly, C McAliskey, S O’Neill, Mark Donnelly.

DERRY (SF v Wexford): T Mallon; G O’Kane, C McKaigue, D McBride; C Kielt, M Lynch, S McGoldrick; P Bradley, P J McCloskey; B McGoldrick, J Kielt, E Lynn; B Heron, E McGuckin, E Bradley.

CORK (AFL v Down): K O’Halloran; M Shields, E O’Mahony, E Cadogan; T Clancy, N O’Leary, J O’Sullivan; G Canty, A Walsh; F Goold, C Sheehan, P Kerrigan; B O’Driscoll, C O’Neill, D O’Connor. Subs: D Lordan, P Kissane, P O’Neill, M Collins, J McLoughlin, A O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan.

LOUTH (NFL V Laois): N Gallagher; C McGuinness, D Finnegan, G Hoey; J OBrien, D Crilly, A Reid; P Keenan, M Fanning; A McDonnell, B Donnelly, B White; P Smith, S Lennon, K Rogers.

LONGFORD (AFL v Armagh): D Sheridan; D Brady, B Gilleran, P Foy; M Quinn, K Diffley, S Mulligan; J Keegan, M Brady; B McElvaney, D McElligott, P McCormack; F McGee, R Smyth, S McCormack.

MUNSTER (SH v Connacht): P Kelly, B Bugler and C Ryan (Clare), A Nash, S O’Neill, T Kenny, P Cronin, P OSullivan and P Horgan (Cork), T Condon, D O’Grady, G O’Mahony, W McNamara, S Dowling and G Mulcahy (Limerick), P Curran, B Maher, Pádraic Maher, S McGrath, Patrick Maher, L Corbett, B O’Meara and E Kelly (Tipperary), M Walsh, S Sullivan and S Daniels (Waterford).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.